Financial market architecture

Regulations i Stock 681164016
  • Verband
  • Regulation Regulation
  • Financial market architectureFinancial market architecture

To strengthen and maintain the competitiveness of Switzerland’s financial sector, and thus by extension its role as a business location, Swiss financial services providers must be well placed at home, participate in growth worldwide, and make the most of the powerful financial infrastructure available to them.
The new legislative package comprising the Financial Services Act (FinSA) and Financial Institutions Act (FinIA) will make a significant contribution to ensuring the exportability of the Swiss financial sector’s products and services. The two acts increase legal certainty by bringing together the existing provisions and establishing a level playing field for competing providers of comparable investment products and financial services. In addition, they bring investor protection up to date and thus present an opportunity for the Swiss financial sector to secure its future.

The entry into force of the FinSA and FinIA on 1 January 2020 fundamentally reshaped the architecture of Switzerland’s financial market legislation. The fund and asset management industry is particularly affected by this because the FinSA and FinIA have brought about sweeping changes to the legislation on collective investment schemes. Under the new horizontal legislation, the primarily sector-based rules set out in the old Collective Investment Schemes Act (CISA) have been split between the FinSA and FinIA. The Anti-Money Laundering Act (AMLA) and the Financial Market Infrastructure Act (FMIA), which are equally relevant for the fund and asset management industry, are also horizontal in nature.

Infrastructure des marchés financiers

Regulations i Stock 681164016
  • Verband
  • Régulation Régulation
  • Infrastructure des marchés financiersInfrastructure des marchés financiers

Afin de pouvoir renforcer le statut de place financière – et, partant, celui de place économique – de la Suisse et de préserver sa compétitivité, les prestataires financiers helvétiques doivent être bien positionnés dans le pays, participer à la croissance internationale et être à même d’exploiter au mieux le potentiel de l’infrastructure financière existante.
Constitué de la loi sur les services financiers (LSFin) et de la loi sur les établissements financiers (LEFin), le nouveau paquet législatif contribue de manière significative à la capacité d’exportation des produits et services de la place financière suisse. Il accroît en effet la sécurité juridique en regroupant les règles existantes et crée les conditions d’une concurrence juste entre prestataires de produits de placements et de services financiers équivalents («level playing field»). Il modernise en outre la protection des investisseurs et représente ainsi une opportunité pour une place financière helvétique orientée vers l’avenir.

Avec l’entrée en vigueur de la LSFin et de la LEFin le 1er janvier 2020, l’architecture du droit suisse des marchés financiers a été fondamentalement transformée. L’industrie des fonds et de la gestion de fortune est particulièrement touchée par cette situation, étant donné que la LSFin et la LEFin sont venues profondément modifier le droit des placements collectifs. La réglementation jusqu’à présent essentiellement sectorielle découlant de la loi sur les placements collectifs de capitaux (LPCC) est remplacée par la réglementation désormais horizontale telle que définie dans la LSFin et la LEFin. Enfin, la loi sur le blanchiment d’argent (LBA) ainsi que la loi sur les infrastructures des marchés financiers (LIMF), qui sont également pertinentes pour l’industrie des fonds et de la gestion de fortune, sont elles aussi de nature horizontale.