Taxes

Header Bild Schweizer Flagge

Contractual investment funds, SICAVs, and limited partnerships for collective investment are fiscally transparent, i.e. they are not subject to tax in their own right (with the exception of those that directly own real estate). Their assets and income are taxed exclusively and directly through the individual investors based on the rules in place in each investor’s tax domicile.

In principle, Swiss law makes no distinction between investments in Swiss and foreign collective investment schemes for the purposes of wealth and income tax. In both cases, investments are subject to wealth tax, and income is subject to income tax, regardless of whether it is distributed or reinvested. Capital gains, meanwhile, are not taxed, provided they are reported separately or paid out with a separate coupon. The specialist information factsheet “Collective investment schemes and taxes” explains the key tax rules from the point of view of investors, collective investment schemes, and fund providers.

The following list is broken down into three 'levels'

  • investment fund (portfolio and application of income)
  • investor
  • fund provider

and gives a summary of the most important laws and ordinances as well as circulars and guidelines and directives issued by the Swiss Federal Tax Administration (FTA) that must be observed in the case of domestic and foreign investment funds. The FTA has also issued information sheets not listed here to explain and clarify individual provisions.

As regards the taxation of investors in Switzerland, the respective cantonal tax laws must also be observed (these are not dealt with here).

1. Investment fund - portfolio

Stamp duty on transactions within the portfolio:

Stamp duty on transactions within the portfolio:

2. Investment fund - application of income

The deduction of withholding tax on distributed and reinvested income and capital gains:

3. Investor

Purchase and redemption (sale) of units:

Income and capital gains on fund investments - Determined solely by the applicable provisions in the investor's tax domicile:

4. Fund provider

Value added tax on turnover generated by fund management companies and their agents, as well as remunerations to distributors:

Fiscalité

Header Bild Schweizer Flagge

Sur le plan fiscal, les fonds d’investissement contractuels, les SICAV et les sociétés en commandite de placements collectifs sont considérés comme transparents, c’est-à-dire qu’ils ne forment pas un sujet fiscal indépendant (à l’exception de la propriété foncière directe). La fortune et les revenus sont imposés exclusivement et directement auprès de l’investisseur. Les dispositions applicables au domicile fiscal de l’investisseur sont déterminantes à cet égard.

Concernant l’impôt sur la fortune et l’impôt sur le revenu, le droit suisse ne fait aucune distinction fondamentale entre les placements collectifs suisses et les placements collectifs de capitaux étrangers. Les placements sont soumis à l’impôt sur la fortune dans les deux cas ; les revenus distribués ou thésaurisés provenant de placements collectifs sont assujettis à l’impôt sur le revenu, tandis que les gains en capital sont exonérés d’impôt, à condition d’être déclarés séparément ou distribués au moyen d’un coupon séparé. L’information spécialisée «Placements collectifs de capitaux et impôts» explique les réglementations fiscales essentielles dans l’optique de l’investisseur, du placement collectif de capitaux et des prestataires de fonds.

La liste ci-après, articulée en 'niveaux'

  • fonds (portefeuille et utilisation des produits)
  • investisseurs
  • prestataires de fonds

donne un aperçu sommaire des lois, ordonnances et circulaires à respecter pour les fonds suisses (S) et étrangers (E), ainsi que les directives et guides de l'Administration fédérale des contributions (AFC). L'AFC a publié aux fins d'exploitation et de précision de différentes dispositions des notices qui ne sont pas énumérées ici.

Il faut également tenir compte en Suisse, en matière d'imposition des investisseurs, des lois fiscales cantonales que nous n'abordons pas ici.

1. Niveau Fonds - Portefeuille

Timbre de négociation sur transactions dans la fortune du fonds:

Produits et gain en capital sur placements de fonds - Seules sont déterminantes les dispositions du domicile fiscal de l'investisseur:

4. Niveau Prestataire de fonds

Taxe sur la valeur ajoutée sur chiffres d'affaires de la direction du fonds et ses mandataires, ou bonifications aux distributeurs: