SFAMA and AMP Switzerland join forces

Header Bild Schweizer Flagge

Media release

Basel, 25 September 2020 – Switzerland is an important centre for asset management, both within Europe and worldwide. With a view to strengthening its position further, the Asset Management Platform (AMP) Switzerland and the Swiss Funds and Asset Management Association SFAMA will merge in autumn 2020 to form the Asset Management Association Switzerland. The Swiss Bankers Association (SBA) will be a member of the new Association with a seat on its Board of Directors.

Asset management has established itself as a mainstay of the Swiss financial sector alongside the traditional banking and insurance businesses. Its importance has grown significantly in recent years, especially in the context of pensions and sustainable investment. The total volume of assets managed by asset managers in Switzerland is estimated at more than CHF 2,500 billion.

Joining forces to serve Swiss asset management

In view of the growing importance of asset management, the Asset Management Platform Switzerland and the Swiss Funds and Asset Management Association SFAMA will merge in autumn 2020. The merger is intended to strengthen the systematic focus on asset management even further and to underscore its economic importance. The aim of creating and maintaining a favourable political and regulatory environment for the industry in Switzerland remains unchanged. Iwan Deplazes, previously Chairman of the AMP and now President of the Asset Management Association Switzerland, had this to say: «The creation and development of the AMP as a joint venture between SFAMA and the Swiss Bankers Association has been a success. The time has now come for all of the partners to pursue a merger from a position of strength. As the Asset Management Association Switzerland, we have the vision to improve Switzerland’s standing as a leading asset management location further.»

The Swiss Bankers Association (SBA) which played a vital role in helping to create and fund the AMP, supports the merger. SFAMA and the SBA both see it as an opportunity to work together more closely going forward as regards asset management and present a united front in promoting Switzerland as a location for asset management. In future, the SBA will be a member of the Asset Management Association Switzerland with a seat on its Board of Directors. SBA Chairman Herbert J. Scheidt commented, «Asset management is now a key pillar of the Swiss financial sector. The Asset Management Association Switzerland reflects this importance by bundling together the previous platforms’ knowledge and capabilities. This combination of broad membership and clear objectives will allow it to make sure that its views are heard and to strengthen Switzerland’s position as a location for asset management.»

The Asset Management Platform Switzerland: a success story

The Asset Management Platform Switzerland was set up in 2016 and has enjoyed considerable success over the past few years. In particular, it has succeeded in establishing asset management as a mainstay of the Swiss financial sector in its own right. Milestones have included the annual publication of a comprehensive study on asset management in Switzerland, a series of events on hot topics in the industry under the AMP banner and significant progress in the strategic areas of pensions, digital transformation and branding. All of this has improved the public image of the asset management industry, helping to generate steady growth in the number of AMP members.

Annual General Meeting and SFAMF

The changes to the Articles of Association needed to create the new Association were adopted at the Annual General Meeting in Bern on 25 September 2020. The following members of the Board of Directors were also elected at the meeting: Iwan Deplazes (President, Swisscanto Invest by Zürcher Kantonalbank), Charlotte Bänninger (Vice President, UBS Asset Management), Michel Degen (Credit Suisse Asset Management), Laurent Ramsey (Pictet Asset Management), Axel Schwarzer (Vontobel Asset Management) and Mirjam Staub-Bisang (BlackRock Asset Management Switzerland). A representative of the SBA will be put forward for election to the Board of Directors at the next Annual General Meeting in March 2021. Until then, the SBA will take part in Board of Directors meetings as a guest.

The Swiss Funds & Asset Management Forum (SFAMF) also took place on 25 September under the heading «Perspectives for Swiss Asset Management». Thomas Hirschi, Head of the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority FINMA’s Asset Management Division, presented FINMA’s priorities in terms of asset management. Dr Jürg Fausch, lecturer at the Institute of Financial Services Zug IFZ, talked about the Swiss Asset Management Study 2020. The event concluded with a discussion moderated by Reto Lipp of SRF on the competitiveness of the Swiss asset management industry and the Association’s role.

SFAMA und Asset Management Plattform Schweiz bündeln ihre Kräfte

Header Bild Schweizer Flagge

Medienmitteilung

Basel, 25. September 2020 – Die Schweiz ist ein bedeutendes Asset Management Zentrum in Europa und weltweit. Um den Standort weiter zu stärken, werden die Asset Management Plattform Schweiz (AMP) und die Swiss Funds & Asset Management Association SFAMA im Herbst 2020 als Asset Management Association Switzerland zusammengeführt. Die Schweizerische Bankiervereinigung (SBVg) wird künftig Mitglied und mit einem Sitz im Vorstand vertreten sein.

Das Asset Management hat sich - neben den traditionellen Eckpfeilern des Banken- und Versicherungsgeschäfts - als eine wichtige Säule des Schweizer Finanzplatzes etabliert. Es hat in den letzten Jahren stark an Bedeutung gewonnen, vor allem in den Bereichen der Altersvorsorge und der nachhaltigen Anlagen. Das Gesamttotal der in der Schweiz durch Asset Manager verwalteten Vermögen beläuft sich geschätzt auf über 2‘500 Milliarden CHF.

Kräftebündelung im Schweizer Asset Management

Um der steigenden Bedeutung des Asset Managements Rechnung zu tragen, werden die Asset Management Plattform Schweiz und die Swiss Funds & Asset Management Association SFAMA im Herbst 2020 zusammengeführt. Mit diesem Schritt wird die konsequente Ausrichtung auf das Asset Management noch stärker zum Tragen kommen und die volkswirtschaftliche Bedeutung dieser Disziplin unterstrichen. Weiteres Ziel bleibt unverändert die Schaffung und Erhaltung eines günstigen politischen und regulatorischen Umfelds für die Branche in der Schweiz. Iwan Deplazes, bisheriger Präsident der AMP und neuer Präsident der Asset Management Association Switzerland, sagt: «Unter der Trägerschaft der SFAMA und der SBVg wurde die AMP erfolgreich aufgebaut und weiterentwickelt. Nun ist der richtige Zeitpunkt für den Zusammenschluss gekommen, denn er erfolgt aus einer Position der Stärke für alle Partner heraus. Als Asset Management Association Switzerland haben wir die Vision, die Schweiz als einen der führenden Asset Management Standorte weiter auszubauen.»

Die Schweizerische Bankiervereinigung, welche die Asset Management Plattform Schweiz mitaufgebaut und mitgetragen hat, unterstützt diese Zusammenführung. SFAMA und SBVg sehen darin die Chance, zukünftig im Bereich Asset Management noch stärker zusammenarbeiten und gemeinsam für einen starken Asset Management Standort Schweiz einzustehen. Zukünftig wird die SBVg Mitglied der Asset Management Association Switzerland sein und einen Sitz im Vorstand einnehmen. Herbert J. Scheidt, Präsident der SBVg sagt: «Das Asset Management ist heute ein zentraler Pfeiler des Schweizer Finanzplatzes. Die Asset Management Association Switzerland trägt dieser Bedeutung Rechnung und vereint die Kräfte und das Wissen der bisherigen Plattformen. Durch die Kombination aus breiter Trägerschaft und fokussiertem Ziel verschafft sie ihren Anliegen Gehör und stärkt den Asset Management Standort Schweiz.»

Erfolgreiche Asset Management Plattform Schweiz

Die Asset Management Plattform Schweiz wurde 2016 gegründet und konnte in den letzten Jahren massgebliche Erfolge verbuchen. Insbesondere ist es ihr gelungen, das Asset Management als eigenständiges, wichtiges Standbein des Schweizer Finanzplatzes zu etablieren. Zu den Meilensteinen gehören unter anderem die jährliche Veröffentlichung einer umfassenden Studie zum Asset Management in der Schweiz, das Etablieren einer eigenen Event-Serie zu aktuellen Branchen-Themen sowie massgebliche Fortschritte in den strategischen Bereichen Vorsorge, Digitalisierung und Branding. Dies hat dazu geführt, dass die Wahrnehmung der Asset Management Industrie in der Öffentlichkeit und damit auch die Mitgliederzahl der AMP stetig angestiegen ist.

Generalversammlung und SFAMF

An der am 25. September 2020 in Bern durchgeführten Generalversammlung wurden die für die Schaffung des Verbands notwendigen Statutenänderungen angenommen. Zudem wurden die folgenden Vorstandsmitglieder neu gewählt: Iwan Deplazes (Präsident, Swisscanto Invest by Zürcher Kantonalbank), Charlotte Bänninger (Vizepräsidentin, UBS Asset Management), Michel Degen (Credit Suisse Asset Management), Laurent Ramsey (Pictet Asset Management), Axel Schwarzer (Vontobel Asset Management) sowie Mirjam Staub-Bisang (BlackRock Asset Management Schweiz). An der nächsten Generalversammlung vom März 2021 wird ein Vertreter der Schweizerischen Bankiervereinigung (SBVg) zur Wahl in den Vorstand vorgeschlagen. Bis dahin nimmt die SBVg als Gast an den Vorstandssitzungen teil.

Gleichentags fand das Swiss Funds & Asset Management Forum (SFAMF) zum Thema «Perspektiven für das Schweizer Asset Management» statt. Dabei präsentierte Thomas Hirschi, Leiter des Geschäftsbereichs Asset Management der Eidgenössischen Finanzmarktaufsicht FINMA, die entsprechenden Prioritäten der Aufsichtsbehörde. Dr. Jürg Fausch, Dozent am Institut für Finanzdienstleistungen Zug IFZ, erläuterte die Swiss Asset Management Study 2020. Abschliessend wurde die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Schweizer Asset Management Industrie und die Rolle des Verbandes unter der Leitung von Reto Lipp (SRF) diskutiert.