Person of the Month

Header Bild Kopf des Monats

«The basic principles of investing have not yet been rewritten.»

Foto A Carmine Orlaccio

Carmine Orlacchio
Founding Partner and CIO of OLZ

Carmine Orlacchio is founding partner and CIO of OLZ, a Swiss asset management company pursuing a risk-based investment approach. While “Nino” focuses on optimal diversification in his day-to-day business, he personally went all-in to get the firm up and running.

 

What does success mean to you?

For me, success has more to do with a qualitative than a quantitative – i.e. financial – dimension. I measure success by the legacy that my professional activity leaves behind. I have (co)founded a company, shaped a corporate culture, and helped develop an investment approach. Have I created added value for our clients? Have I earned the gratitude of the company’s employees and stakeholders in general? How much of all this will outlast my active professional career?

What is it that motivates you?

The daily challenge of doing the right thing. When investing money, you’re challenged every day anew not to lose sight of the big picture and not to succumb to short-term dynamics. My goal must be to improve the long-term efficiency and effectiveness of our investment solutions. In doing so, I must be very aware of the emotional dimension of my profession. It is both challenging and motivating to keep putting things into a long-term framework and not give in to the temptation to act in the short term. The basic principles of investing and risk management have not yet been rewritten.

What was the biggest challenge you faced at the start of your career?

Privately, it was a great challenge to find the balance between my family and building the company. Fortunately, my wife was very understanding. Professionally, it was a huge challenge to build up an asset management business from scratch – in other words, without any existing clients, assets, products or track record. We started with a good idea, a clear vision, and a lot of idealism. The first years were tough.

Who comes to mind if you are asked to name a «high achiever»?

I’ll limit myself to the financial world. One of the top achievers by far, not only performance-wise, is certainly Ray Dalio, who’s very much on-trend right now. I read about his “Principles” 20 years ago and found his approach very inspiring. He didn’t preach profit maximization and say that all the rest would then follow by itself. My favorite evergreen is definitely Harry Markowitz. His groundbreaking insights are unfortunately all too often trivialized, for example by unrealistic assumptions about the market portfolio and the efficient frontier. Markowitz is often quoted, but – dare I say it – rarely read. Another great figure in financial market science is Daniel Kahneman. He contributed significantly to the realization that even the king of investors is naked, in other words that investors are only human beings, not masters of the universe or optimization machines. We need to be aware of our limitations and the cognitive distortions that influence our decisions.

What are your leadership principles?

Leadership can only succeed with mutual recognition. To receive recognition, I need to be close to my people, to recognize and understand their needs, wishes, and problems. That way, I can support them in their professional development and thereby help the company to move forward. This is my job. I follow an integrative approach, listen, analyze, and I’m also willing to accept a different point of view than mine. A leader isn’t like a star that shines in its own light, he or she is more like a planet, reflecting the light of the people he or she leads. It makes me proud to see how the people I work with have developed and grown over their many years with the company. Thanks to them, OLZ has become a success story.

What do you enjoy most in your job, what least?

As a member of the board of directors and management of OLZ, as well as being responsible for operational business processes, I’m increasingly absorbed by new regulatory tasks. This is rather dry and expensive for the company – and not very inspiring. On the other hand, I’m always full of energy when I’m working on investment solutions or solving organizational challenges.

What advice would you give to someone embarking on a career in asset management today or your younger self?

Money isn’t the most important thing. As a career starter, don’t choose the employer that pays the most, but choose an intellectually stimulating environment. Let yourself be guided by curiosity and the ambition to understand everything. To the junior who joins our company, I say, “In the first few years, you’ll work on your professional foundation.” When you’re young and full of energy and ideas, you should go that extra mile and take risks.

What are you thankful for?

For the fact that I’m not materialistic. Above all, money gives me the freedom to think and act.

What is your favorite food or menu?

I won’t even start on la cucina italiana, the list of fine Italian dishes is simply too long and varied to choose one. It’s as if you were asking me who I love most: my wife or my mother. So let’s concentrate on Swiss cuisine instead: Suure Mocke mit Härdöpfustock, a hearty meal of beef braised in wine with mashed potatoes!

What book are you currently reading?

I’m currently reading a classic from the 80s, Tom Wolfe’s “The Bonfire of the Vanities”. The author ironically denounces the selfish “greed is good” attitude that dominated the financial industry in the 80s and 90s, which finally culminated in the Great Financial Crisis of 2008. What fascinates me about the author Tom Wolfe is how he, with a sharp eye on the financial industry, mercilessly exposes the contradictions of the US economy and society and holds up a mirror to the entire western culture. In a way, I found in his books an explanation for today’s flood of regulation that is now spilling over me/us with the well-meant intention of healing the financial industry from its sins.

What famous person would you like to meet?

Papst Franziskus, aber nicht, weil ich Italiener binPope Francis, but not because I’m Italian and had a Catholic education. I consider him one of the few influential people in the world – if not the only one. He builds bridges rather than walls and follows an inclusive approach. It’s no coincidence that he chose to name himself in memory of St. Francis: he’s trying to revolutionize an institution with 2,000 years of history that’s also been overshadowed by scandals, bringing it back to its original spirit and more in line with its grass roots. Mission (almost) impossible.

What was your favorite subject at school?

History. In the first years of school, I was fascinated by Greek and Roman history. In high school and later at university, I was fascinated by the idea of history as evolution, as a consequence of social and technical progress that promotes new forms of economic organization of a society, new forms of civilization and culture. Thus, over the years, I implicitly moved on to philosophy.

Portrait du mois

Header Bild Kopf des Monats

«Les principes fondamentaux de l’activité de placement restent à réécrire.»

Foto A Carmine Orlaccio

Carmine Orlacchio
Associé fondateur et CIO d’OLZ SA

Carmine Orlacchio est associé fondateur et CIO d’OLZ, une société suisse d’Asset Management dont l’approche en matière d’investissement est fondée sur le risque. Si la diversification optimale est au centre de son quotidien professionnel, «Nino» a une démarche inverse dans sa vie privée...

 

Carmine Orlacchio, le succès, c’est quoi pour vous?

La dimension qualitative du succès est plus importante à mes yeux que la dimension quantitative, c’est-à-dire financière. Je mesure le succès à l’aune de l’héritage que laissera mon activité professionnelle. J’ai cofondé une société, j’ai imprimé ma marque en termes de culture d’entreprise, j’ai contribué à développer une approche en matière d’investissement. Ai-je apporté de la valeur ajoutée à nos clientes et nos clients? Ai-je mérité d’être reconnu par le personnel de l’entreprise et, plus généralement, par ses partenaires? Que restera-t-il de tout cela une fois que j’aurai pris ma retraite?

Quel est votre moteur?

Le défi quotidien de faire les bons choix. Lorsqu’on investit de l’argent, il faut s’efforcer jour après jour de garder une vision d’ensemble et de ne pas céder à la dynamique du court terme. Mon objectif doit être d’améliorer l’efficience et la performance à long terme de nos solutions de placement. A cet effet, je dois être très attentif à la dimension émotionnelle de mon métier. C’est à la fois difficile et motivant de toujours garder un horizon temporel long en ligne de mire, sans succomber à la tentation de l’immédiat. Les principes fondamentaux de l’activité de placement et de la gestion des risques restent à réécrire.

Au début de votre carrière, à quel défi majeur avez-vous été confronté?

Au niveau privé, il m’a fallu trouver l’équilibre entre vie de famille et création d’une entreprise, ce qui n’a pas été de tout repos. Heureusement, mon épouse s’est montrée très compréhensive. Au niveau professionnel, l’immense défi a été de lancer une activité d’Asset Management à partir de zéro: sans clientèle de départ, sans patrimoine, sans produits, sans historique. Nous avons démarré avec une bonne idée, une vision claire et beaucoup d’idéalisme. Les premières années ont été rudes.

Si je vous demande de citer un personnage qui a «réussi», à qui pensez-vous?

Je me limiterai au monde financier et citerai en premier lieu Ray Dalio, très en vogue actuellement, dont la réussite ne se mesure de loin pas seulement en termes de performance. J’ai découvert ses «Principes» il y a vingt ans et son approche m’a paru très inspirante, parce qu’il ne prêchait pas la maximisation du profit en prétendant que tout le reste suivrait de lui-même. Mais mon éternel chouchou, si je puis me permettre, c’est Harry Markowitz. Ses découvertes révolutionnaires sont hélas trop souvent galvaudées, en particulier par des hypothèses irréalistes sur le portefeuille de marché et la ligne d’efficience. Markowitz est souvent cité mais – osons le dire – rarement lu. Un autre grand nom en matière de marchés financiers est Daniel Kahneman. Il a énormément contribué à montrer que même le roi des investisseurs est un roi nu, c’est-à-dire que même les investisseurs sont de simples êtres humains et non les maîtres de l’univers ou des machines à optimiser. Il en conclut que nous devons être conscients de nos limites ainsi que des biais cognitifs qui influent sur nos décisions

Quels sont les principes qui vous guident en matière de conduite?

Il n’y a pas de leadership sans reconnaissance mutuelle. Pour être reconnu, je dois être proche de mes équipes, je dois connaître et comprendre leurs besoins, leurs souhaits, leurs problèmes. C’est le seul moyen de les accompagner dans le développement de leur carrière et, par là même, de faire avancer l’entreprise. C’est ma mission. J’ai à cet égard une démarche inclusive, j’écoute, j’analyse et je suis prêt à accepter un autre point de vue que le mien. Un leader n’est pas une étoile qui brille de sa propre lumière. Pour filer la métaphore astronomique, il ou elle est une planète dont la lumière (c’est-à-dire la réussite) n’est que le reflet d’autres lumières, celles des personnes qui l’entourent. Je suis fier de voir combien les personnes avec qui je travaille ont évolué et progressé au fil des années. C’est à elles qu’OLZ doit son succès.

Qu'est-ce qui vous plaît le plus – et le moins – dans votre travail?

En tant que membre du conseil d’administration et de la direction d’OLZ, mais aussi en tant que responsable de processus opérationnels, je suis confronté à des tâches réglementaires de plus en plus envahissantes. C’est assez stérile, coûteux pour l’entreprise – et pas très stimulant. Mais lorsque je travaille sur des solutions de placement ou que je résous des difficultés organisationnelles, je retrouve toute mon énergie!

Quels conseils donneriez-vous à un jeune qui débute dans l’Asset Management?

L’argent, c’est important – mais il y a plus important que l’argent. Pour débuter dans le métier, ne choisissez pas l’employeur qui vous paiera le plus, mais celui qui vous offrira un environnement de travail intellectuellement stimulant. Laissez-vous guider par votre curiosité et par votre volonté de tout comprendre. A chaque jeune qui fait ses débuts dans notre entreprise, je dis ceci: «c’est dans les premières années que tu construiras ton socle professionnel». Quand on est jeune, plein d’enthousiasme et bouillonnant d’idées, il faut savoir se dépasser et prendre des risques.

De quoi êtes-vous reconnaissant?

De ne pas être quelqu’un de matérialiste. L’argent, c’est ce qui me donne ma liberté de pensée et d’action.

Quel est votre plat ou votre menu préféré?

Je ne parlerai pas de la «cucina italiana», elle est si riche qu’il est impossible de choisir! C’est comme si vous me demandiez: vous préférez votre épouse ou votre mère? Concentrons-nous alors sur la cuisine suisse: mon plat préféré, c’est le Suure Mocke accompagné de Härdöpfustock, comme on dit chez nous!

Quel livre lisez-vous actuellement?

Je lis un classique des années 80, «Le bûcher des vanités» de Tom Wolfe. Dans ce livre, l’auteur stigmatise avec ironie la cupidité égoïste qui, dans les années 80 et 90, a dominé le secteur financier avant de déboucher sur la grande crise de 2008. Ce qui est passionnant chez Tom Wolfe, c’est son regard sur le secteur financier, un regard affûté qui lui permet de dénoncer impitoyablement les contradictions de l’économie américaine et de tendre un miroir à toute l’économie occidentale. D’une certaine manière, ses livres m’ont fourni une explication à la marée réglementaire actuelle, qui m’inonde et nous inonde avec la volonté bien intentionnée de délivrer le secteur financier de ses péchés.

Quel personnage célèbre aimeriez-vous rencontrer?

Le pape François, mais pas parce que je suis italien et que j’ai reçu une éducation catholique. Je le considère comme une des rares personnalités influentes au monde – voire la seule. Il préfère jeter des ponts que construire des murs, il a une approche inclusive. Son nom, qui fait référence à Saint François, est un programme en soi: il tente de révolutionner une institution multimillénaire, en proie à des scandales, en lui restituant son esprit originel et en la rapprochant de sa base. Mission (presque) impossible.

Quelle était votre matière préférée à l’école?

L'histoire. Les premières années, l’histoire grecque et romaine me fascinait. Ensuite, à l’école secondaire puis à l’université, j’ai appris à appréhender l’histoire comme une évolution, comme une conséquence du progrès social et technique qui favorise de nouvelles formes d’organisation économique, de nouvelles formes de civilisation et de culture au sein des sociétés. C’est ainsi qu’au fil des années, je me suis rapproché insensiblement de la philosophie.