Person of the Month

“If you stop running, you have already lost.”

Po M Bellecapital Christian Kuersteiner

Christian Kürsteiner
Head of Asset Management, Bellecapital, Zurich

Christian Kürsteiner heads up the asset management unit of Bellecapital, a wealth and asset manager with CHF 3.5 billion in assets under management and 41 employees in Zurich and London. He is also responsible for acquiring and serving institutional clients. He was previously in charge of building up portfolio management operations at Bellecapital’s SEC-registered unit and held various sales positions at Barclays Investment Bank in London and Zurich. To Christian, it is also important to commit time to young students by organizing an annual summer internship at Bellecapital and acting as a student mentor.

 

Christian Kürsteiner, what was the best decision you have taken in your career?
Always being open to change. If you stop running, you have already lost. The partners at Bellecapital, for example, have repeatedly offered me new challenges that I have gladly taken on. When I first joined the company, I built up and ran portfolio management operations at its SEC-registered unit for US clients. When Bellecapital bought GL Funds in 2016 and thus entered the asset management business, I was tasked with integrating and restructuring the acquired company together with the team. Now, I am responsible for running and growing this business. Being receptive to change has enabled me to learn a great deal in every phase of my career and continually develop my capabilities.


What is it that motivates you?

My passion for what I do and my ambition to make the best out of my life. I have to say that the meritocratic notion and self-responsibility are deeply rooted in me. I believe that we all create our own luck, so I try to make the best of every situation. For instance, when a redundancy round put my time at Barclays to an end in 2012, I consciously saw this as an opportunity to take stock of my life and recharge my batteries. I spent a month in Cadiz brushing up on my Spanish and did some temporary work on a few M&A projects for an alternative energy project developer in Germany. Then I joined Bellecapital at the start of 2014.


Who do you think of when you hear the word “successful”?

People like Roger Federer and Warren Buffett immediately come to mind, but I firmly believe that success means giving your all to achieve the best possible results, whatever your situation. If you are certain that you have done your best, that gives you satisfaction, and you can be at ease with yourself – even if the outcome does not live up to all your expectations because of outside influences that are beyond your control. In my opinion, anyone who lives by this principle is successful.


What are your guiding/leadership principles?

As asset managers, it is our job to add value for our clients, which entails putting fresh ideas into practice and providing top-quality services. This means that all members of the team, from the portfolio managers to the middle office and sales staff, have to harness their full potential, take responsibility for their role, contribute ideas, listen to everyone else with an open mind, and be prepared to keep on learning. I think it is important to maintain a positive “can-do” attitude. Problems are there to be solved.


What drove you to do what you do today?

As a small boy, I collected Panini stickers for the 1990 soccer World Cup in Italy and haggled with my classmates in the schoolyard to trade the players I had two of for the ones I was still missing. This sort of economic interaction has fascinated me ever since: how can I create a win-win situation and seal the deal?


Which problems should politicians and authorities urgently address?

General financial education needs to be drastically improved so that people are better equipped to make decisions about their finances. Topics like compound interest, filling out your tax return, drawing up a household budget and the system of retirement provisions should be firmly embedded in the curriculum, ideally starting in primary school. This knowledge would put young people in a much better position, for example, to engage in the debate on the sustainable setup of the state and occupational pension systems.


How do you achieve that crucial work/life balance?

I spend time with my family and friends, go jogging or play tennis, read books of all genres, and enjoying cooking and eating, together with the occasional glass of wine. I also like to travel, which will hopefully be possible again soon. That said, I think it is important to just do nothing from time to time and get lost in your thoughts.


What can you not do without?

Besides my health, social interaction with other people.


What advice would you give to someone embarking on a career in asset management today?

Most of my advice would echo what I have already said. Follow your passion, always give your best, be ready to learn and open to change and opportunities – ideally where there is not much competition. You should also decide whether you want to be a specialist or a generalist. That said, I do not think either choice is necessarily better than the other, it rather depends on the individual.


What is your favorite travel destination?

I love traveling, and I enjoy discovering new places and coming into contact with people from different cultures. If I had to choose one favorite, it would be New York. This vibrant, multicultural city with its skyscrapers, vast Central Park, and highly diverse neighborhoods has captivated me ever since my first visit. A place I would really like to go to one day is the East Coast of Australia, partly just to see the amazing Sydney Opera House and watch some tennis at the Australian Open, the only Grand Slam event I have not yet attended.


Which childhood memory has left a lasting impression on you?

My year as an exchange student in Canada while I was in high school. It was an adventure that allowed me to find my way without my parents in a new country with a different culture and mentality, forge new friendships, and immerse myself in that country’s society. To this day, I still keep in touch with the family I stayed with and my best friends from back then, and I still benefit from the experience and insights I gained during that time.


What famous person would you like to meet?

I would love to have a chat with Peter Thiel, founder of PayPal and an early investor in Facebook. I find his independent way of thinking inspiring, and I think we can learn a lot from his experience.

Portrait du mois

«Qui n’avance pas recule!»

Po M Bellecapital Christian Kuersteiner

Christian Kürsteiner
Responsable Asset Management, Bellecapital, Zurich

Christian Kürsteiner est responsable du département « Asset Management » chez Bellecapital, une société qui s’occupe également de gestion de fortune avec des actifs sous gestions de CHF 3,5 milliards. La société occupe 41 personnes à Zurich et à Londres. Christian Kürsteiner est chargé de l’acquisition de clients institutionnels et de leur suivi. Auparavant, il a créé l’activité Portfolio Management au sein de l’entité de Bellecapital enregistrée auprès de la SEC. Il a également exercé diverses fonctions commerciales chez Barclays Investment Bank à Londres et à Zurich. Très impliqué dans la formation de la relève, Christian Kürsteiner organise chaque année un stage d’été chez Bellecapital, lors duquel il fait office de mentor auprès des étudiant-e-s.

 

Christian Kürsteiner: quelle est la meilleure décision que vous ayez prise dans votre carrière professionnelle?
Celle de rester toujours ouvert au changement. Qui n’avance pas recule! Par exemple, les associés de Bellecapital n’ont cessé de me proposer de nouveaux défis, que je n’ai pas hésité à relever. J’ai commencé par créer et diriger l’activité Portfolio Management au sein de l’entité de Bellecapital enregistrée auprès de la SEC et destinée aux clients américains. Après l’acquisition de GL Funds et le démarrage de l’activité Asset Management chez Bellecapital en 2016, avec mon équipe, nous avons intégré et restructuré cette dernière. Je suis depuis en charge de son développement. A chaque étape de ma carrière, mon ouverture au changement m’a permis d’apprendre énormément et d’évoluer dans le métier.


Quel est votre motivation?

La passion pour ce que je fais et la volonté de construire une vie qui me plaise. J’ai l’esprit de performance et le sens de la responsabilité individuelle. Par ailleurs, je pense que chacun est l’artisan de son propre bonheur. J’essaye donc de tirer le meilleur parti de toutes les situations. Ainsi, quand une vague de licenciements a mis fin à mes fonctions chez Barclays en 2012, j’en ai profité pour faire le point sur le plan personnel. J’ai profité de me ressourcer et effectuer un séjour linguistique d’un mois à Cadiz pour améliorer mon espagnol. J’ai travaillé temporairement avec un développeur de projets de fusions et acquisitions dans le domaine des énergies alternatives en Allemagne. Et début 2014, j’ai démarré mon activité chez Bellecapital.


Si je vous demande de citer un personnage qui a «réussi», à qui pensez-vous?

Spontanément, j’aurais tendance à citer Roger Federer ou Warren Buffett. De manière plus générale, je suis convaincu que pour avoir du succès, il faut tout faire, quelles que soient les circonstances, pour obtenir un résultat optimal. Lorsqu’on est certain d’avoir donné le meilleur de soi-même, on ressent de la satisfaction et de la sérénité. Pour les éléments sur lesquels nous n’avons pas d’influence, les résultats ne sont pas toujours à la .hauteur de nos espérances. Pour moi, quelqu’un qui «réussit», c’est quelqu’un qui applique ce principe.


Quelles sont vos lignes directrices en matière de conduite?

Notre raison d’être, en tant qu’asset managers, est de générer de la valeur ajoutée pour nos clients. A cet effet, nous devons mettre en œuvre des idées nouvelles et fournir des prestations d’une qualité irréprochable. Cela suppose que chaque membre de l’équipe – PM, Middle Office, Sales – exploite pleinement son potentiel, assume ses responsabilités et ses fonctions, propose des suggestions stimulantes, soit à l’écoute des autres et se montre disposé à évoluer. Ce qui importe à mes yeux, c’est une attitude «can do» positive – les problèmes sont là pour être résolus!


Qu’est-ce qui vous a poussé dans la voie qui est la vôtre aujourd’hui?

Quand j’étais gamin, je collectionnais les images Panini de la Coupe du monde de football 1990 en Italie et, dans la cour de récréation, je négociais avec mes copains pour échanger celles que j’avais en double contre celles qui me manquaient. Ces interactions économiques me fascinent encore aujourd’hui. Comment créer une situation « gagnante-gagnante » pour conclure une transaction.


Selon vous, quelles sont les questions dont les responsables politiques et les autorités devraient s’emparer sans tarder?

Il faudrait améliorer nettement la culture générale financière, afin que chacun puisse prendre de meilleures décisions dans ce domaine. Les intérêts composés, la méthode pour compléter une déclaration d’impôts, l’élaboration d’un budget du ménage, la prévoyance, tous ces sujets devraient être plus présents dans les emplois du temps, idéalement dès l’école primaire. Forts de ces connaissances, les jeunes seraient mieux à même de faire entendre leur voix, par exemple dans le débat sur l’avenir de l’AVS et des caisses de pension.


Pendant vos loisirs, qu’est-ce qui est pour vous un facteur d’équilibre?

Je passe du temps en famille et entre amis, je vais courir ou je joue au tennis, je lis des livres de toutes sortes, j’aime cuisiner et j’apprécie les plaisirs de la table – avec un bon verre de vin, c’est mieux. Il me tarde aussi de pouvoir à nouveau voyager. Mais je n’oublie pas pour autant de m’accorder de délicieux moments de farniente, car c’est l’occasion de donner libre cours à mes pensées…


Y a-t-il quelque chose qui vous soit indispensable au quotidien?

Outre la santé, oui, les interactions sociales sont essentielles pour moi.


Quels conseils donneriez-vous à un jeune qui débute dans l’Asset Management?

Mes conseils résulteraient pour l’essentiel de ce que je viens de dire: vis selon ta passion, donne toujours le meilleur de toi-même, sois curieux et ouvert au changement et aux opportunités – surtout dans les domaines où la concurrence est faible. Demande-toi également si tu souhaites devenir un généraliste ou un spécialiste. Selon moi, l’un et l’autre se valent, il n’y a pas de bon ou de mauvais choix.


Quelle est votre destination de voyage préférée?

J’adore voyager et je ne me lasse pas de découvrir des lieux inconnus, des cultures et des personnes différentes. Mais si je devais choisir une seule destination, ce serait New York. Cette ville multiculturelle et tellement vibrante m’a envoûté dès ma première visite, avec ses gratte-ciels, Central Park, ses quartiers dont aucun ne ressemble aux autres. Je voudrais aussi absolument visiter une fois la côte est de l’Australie, en particulier pour voir le magnifique opéra de Sydney et pour assister à l’Open d’Australie – le seul tournoi du Grand Chelem de tennis qu’il me reste à suivre sur place!


Quel est le souvenir d’enfance qui vous a marqué?

C’est plutôt un souvenir d’adolescence: l’année d’échange que j’ai passée au Canada, à l’époque du gymnase. Cette aventure m’a permis de trouver pour la première fois mes repères seul, sans mes parents, dans un pays étranger doté d’une culture et d’une mentalité différentes, ainsi que de nouer des amitiés et de m’intégrer dans la société locale. J’ai toujours gardé le contact avec ma famille d’accueil et avec mes meilleurs amis d’alors, et cette expérience me sert encore aujourd’hui.


Quelle est la personnalité de renom que vous aimeriez bien rencontrer?

Discuter avec Peter Thiel, le fondateur de Paypal et un des premiers investisseurs dans Facebook, ceci m’intéresserait beaucoup. Je trouve sa liberté de pensée très stimulante, sans compter qu’il y a beaucoup à apprendre de ses expériences.