Fisch Asset Management

An early adopter of the boutique approach

Fisch Asset Management was founded in 1994 by Kurt and Pius Fisch with the aim of focusing on a small range of investment products and offering professional asset management for institutional investors. Kurt Fisch had developed the idea for the business based on his experience as a portfolio manager in institutional asset management at Schweizerische Kreditanstalt (now Credit Suisse) and Head of Asset Management at a private bank.

Bild Fisch
The company's founders Kurt and Pius Fisch

Most asset management startups at the time were geared to private clients. While a focus on successful active asset management was nothing new, it was not the norm in Switzerland. The inspiration came from hedge fund managers who had made it big in the US. Invest in talented people who act as entrepreneurs and believe in their strategy enough to put everything they have behind it: that was the idea that caught our attention. We wanted to achieve superior performance over the long term through professional, active asset management. It was no small task, but it appealed to our competitive mindset, and it’s something we still derive a lot of enjoyment from today.

Rigorous focus as a recipe for success
Because we focused on a small number of products, we could only target institutional clients, and the margins there are much smaller than with private clients. Institutional asset management was far less developed than it is now. It was still the preserve of the big banks. Hardly anyone had heard of the “boutique asset manager” business model. We were helped by the fact that there was massively less regulation than there is now. It was possible to launch a company with less than CHF 100 million in assets under management back then.

Thanks to the basic concept of maintaining a clear focus and our rigorous efforts to stick to it, we carved out a niche for ourselves over the years in convertible bonds for institutional investors in the German-speaking countries. This brand gave our young, small company lots of visibility and a high profile, which was invaluable in many respects.

Key milestones in the company’s history:

  • 1998: decision to pursue stronger growth and hire more staff, launch of two convertible bond funds tailored to the specific needs of Swiss pension funds
  • Choice of Germany as our second main market, with especially good performance seen after the dotcom crisis
  • Diversification into corporate bonds (high yield and emerging markets) and launch of the multi-asset strategy (including the trend-following programme) we developed for our own pension fund

The corporate culture is all about doing everything we can not only for our clients, but also for our staff. It has continued to evolve as our headcount has grown. In addition to avoiding conflicts of interest, some of the most important aspects are entrepreneurial behaviour, high standards of professionalism (always striving to improve), respect and teamwork. The entire organisation (structure, compensation, all processes) has to follow these principles and develop them over time. This is why we operate with total transparency within the company. Every employee knows everything that’s going on – not just the annual report and meeting minutes, but also salaries and so on. Transparency is essential if you really want your staff to act like entrepreneurs. At the same time, they’re supported as part of the team. This makes it easier to avoid office politics and to spot problems at an early stage when they can be solved.

Development of assets under management

32021b4596b1e8fd9e67ecb1f0d75420a108ff4e aum in chf de
Source: Fisch Asset Management, in millions CHF)

Employee participation
Another cornerstone of our corporate philosophy is the share ownership schemes for our staff. We want them to have a stake in the company’s long-term success. Employees who are also shareholders take a more business-oriented view, and it means that the most important people in the company have the same goals.
Our steady growth since we started out is certainly a strength. It gives the company and its staff a self-confidence that comes in particularly useful in asset management. Our continuity is the result of a corporate strategy geared to the long term.

We believe that Switzerland is an ideal location for boutique asset managers. Its banking industry ensures a plentiful supply of qualified staff, know-how and capital that needs to be invested. The level of qualifications is high by international standards, and good quality of life makes it possible to attract talented people from abroad.

Fisch Asset Management

L’approche «boutique» privilégiée dès le départ

En 1994, l’entreprise Fisch Asset Management était créée par Kurt et Pius Fisch dans l’objectif de se concentrer sur un nombre limité de produits de placement et de proposer une gestion de fortune professionnelle aux investisseurs institutionnels. Une idée commerciale développée par Kurt Fisch, qui se fondait sur ses activités de gérant de portefeuille dans le domaine de la gestion de fortune institutionnelle auprès de la société SKA d’alors et de responsable de la gestion d’actifs au sein d’une banque privée.

Bild Fisch
Les fondateurs d'entreprise Kurt et Pius Fisch

Les start-up de l’époque étaient essentiellement des gérants de fortune pour clients privés. Si le fait de se concentrer sur une gestion de fortune active et efficace ne constituait pas en soi une idée commerciale nouvelle, c’était plutôt inhabituel en Suisse. Les gestionnaires réputés de hedge funds américains servaient de modèles. Leur politique consistait à investir dans de véritables talents qui, en tant qu’entrepreneurs, mettaient tous leurs moyens de subsistance au service de leur stratégie. C’était cette idée qui fascinait: pouvoir obtenir une performance supérieure à la moyenne grâce à une gestion de fortune active et professionnelle, et garantir ainsi son succès à long terme. Cette mission ambitieuse, qui correspondait à notre esprit de compétition, est toujours aussi stimulante pour nous.

Concentration sur le concept de succès
Comme nous nous concentrions sur un nombre restreint de produits, nous ne pouvions plus nous adresser qu’à des clients institutionnels, un secteur qui affiche des marges sensiblement inférieures à celles du segment de la clientèle privée. La gestion de fortune institutionnelle, alors bien moins développée, relevait clairement des grandes banques. Le modèle commercial «Boutique Asset Manager» était à peine connu. On profitait à l’époque d’une faible densité réglementaire en comparaison avec aujourd’hui. Il était possible, par exemple, de démarrer avec moins de 100 millions de francs d’actifs sous gestion.
Notre recette de base – la concentration et la mise en œuvre systématique de nos idées– nous a permis au fil des ans de nous faire un nom sur le marché de niche des obligations convertibles auprès des investisseurs institutionnels de l’espace germanophone. Cette marque nous a conféré, en tant que jeune entreprise de petite taille, une visibilité et une identification importantes, ce qui revêtait pour nous une valeur inestimable à bien des égards.

Quelques événements importants dans l’histoire de l’entreprise

  • 1998 Décision d’extension et de renforcement du personnel, lancement de deux fonds d’obligations convertibles avec concentration sur les besoins spécifiques des caisses de pension suisses
  • Choix de l’Allemagne comme deuxième marché principal, qui s’est développé avec succès, surtout après la bulle Internet
  • Diversification via l’introduction des obligations d’entreprise (domaines high-yield et emerging markets) et élaboration de la stratégie multi-actifs (y compris le programme de suivi de tendance), que nous avons développée pour notre propre caisse de pension

«Tout pour les clients, tout pour les collaborateurs»: c’est à partir de cette idée que notre culture d’entreprise s’est développée tandis que les collaborateurs grossissaient les rangs de notre organisation. Nos leitmotivs sont l’absence de conflits d’intérêts, l’esprit d’entreprise, le professionnalisme (amélioration constante), le respect, l’esprit d’équipe, etc. L’organisation dans son ensemble (structure, rémunération, ensemble des processus) doit respecter et développer ces principes. C’est pourquoi il règne également une transparence totale au sein de la société. Chaque collaborateur est parfaitement informé de tout, et connaît donc non seulement les rapports de gestion et les procès-verbaux de séances, mais aussi les salaires, notamment. La transparence est une condition sine qua non pour pouvoir exiger un réel esprit d’entreprise de la part du personnel. Comme elle rend plus difficiles les manœuvres et intrigues politiques, elle favorise en outre l’esprit d’équipe. Enfin, elle permet d’identifier les problèmes en amont, lorsqu’ils peuvent encore être résolus.

Développement des actifs sous gestion

32021b4596b1e8fd9e67ecb1f0d75420a108ff4e aum in chf de
Quelle: Fisch Asset Management, in Millionen CHF

Participation des collaborateurs
Autre pilier essentiel de la philosophie de notre entreprise: les programmes d’actions des collaborateurs. Ces derniers doivent pouvoir participer à notre succès à long terme. Les collaborateurs, lorsqu’ils sont actionnaires, ont davantage l’esprit d’entreprise, et les personnes le plus haut placées tirent toutes à la même corde.
La croissance continuelle affichée depuis le début est certainement une force. Elle confère à l’entreprise et aux collaborateurs une conscience de leur valeur justement précieuse pour l’activité d’un gestionnaire de fortune. Et l’orientation à long terme de la stratégie d’entreprise garantit la continuité.

La Suisse représente à nos yeux l’endroit idéal pour un «Boutique Asset Manager». Sa place bancaire offre les compétences d’un personnel qualifié, de l’expérience ainsi que du capital qui doit être investi. Le niveau de formation est bon en comparaison internationale, et le niveau de vie élevé permet d’attirer des talents étrangers.