Partners Group

Realising potential in private markets

Founded in 1996, Partners Group is one of the largest private markets investment managers globally. The company is headquartered in Zug, Switzerland and has 19 offices around the world. Partners Group employs over 1,000 people* and is listed on the SIX Swiss Exchange, with the founders and staff owning a majority of its shares. It manages assets totalling more than EUR 60 billion* for its institutional clients.

Partners Group invests in private equity, private debt, private real estate and private infrastructure investments and focuses on quality assets with growth and development potential. Changing market conditions, as well as transformative and regional trends, can significantly affect the appeal of specific sectors and industries. The investment teams therefore conduct regular analysis to identify and further define the sectors, regions and industry strategies that are likely to offer higher value relative to other segments at a given time.

Christoph Rubeli, Partner and Co-Chief Executive Officer, comments: “Our investment approach across private markets is guided by both structural change and transformative trends. In particular, we focus on sectors benefiting from the global megatrends we believe have the ability to support assets in generating higher top-line growth than the rest of their industry. These include digital transformation, new-generation living and consumption, and the energy revolution."

Adding value takes precedence
In private equity, Partners Group seeks to invest in companies with development potential. The firm’s investment professionals work closely with management teams and corporate partners throughout the lifespan of the investments. They are supported by the firm’s team of dedicated industry specialists, who capitalise on their deep sector knowledge to seek out value creation opportunities.

Bespoke solutions
In global private debt markets, Partners Group provides tailored financing solutions for quality assets in stable industries. This financing, typically provided in buyouts, makes a significant contribution to a company’s long-term value creation. The firm’s local investment teams provide debt capital across the whole debt structure, ranging from senior loans to mezzanine financing solutions.

Relative value approach in real estate
In global real estate markets, Partners Group invests through dedicated local teams around the globe and focuses on value creation opportunities in the retail, office, industrial, hotel and residential property markets. Its real estate investment strategy allows the firm to invest across the capital structure in either equity or debt instruments based on its relative value investment approach.

Infrastructure investments focusing on development
In global private infrastructure, Partners Group seeks control-oriented global infrastructure transactions with limited downside risk and high visibility of cash flows. The firm’s teams have invested and built significant expertise in the following sectors globally: transportation, communication, conventional power, renewable power, energy infrastructure, water, social infrastructure and waste management.
Partners Group manages a broad range of investment programmes and customised portfolios for over 1,000 institutional clients and their more than 100 million beneficiaries who seek superior investment performance through private markets. These programmes offer a variety of different investment options across all private markets asset classes. They encompass single or multi-asset class portfolios, catering to the desired return and diversification profiles of its clients.

Over USD 80 billion invested
Partners Group’s investment platform and structuring capabilities enable it to cater to a wide range of differing investment needs and to meet specific regulatory requirements. Its investment programmes and mandates have allowed the firm to invest over USD 80 billion in private equity, private real estate, private debt and private infrastructure on behalf of its clients since it was formed.
Partners Group’s institutional investor base is broadly diversified across regions and types of clients. However, Switzerland remains an important market for the firm and today represents over EUR 10 billion in assets under management. The firm therefore strives to provide its local investors with the best structuring solutions to access global private market opportunities.

Felix Haldner, Partner, Client Solutions, comments: “In building our business, we were continuously supported by the relevant authorities, and we’re impressed by their general pro-business attitude. We understand that the legislator has taken the required actions, and we support the authorities in their mission to insist on market access and fight for a level playing field, thereby overcoming increasing hurdles to serve institutional clients cross-border from Switzerland.”


*Figures as of 31 December 2017

Partners Group

Exploiter le potentiel des marchés privés

Fondé en 1996, Partners Group est aujourd’hui l’un des plus grands gestionnaires d’investissements sur les marchés privés mondiaux. Basée à Zoug, l’entreprise compte 19 succursales dans le monde entier et emploie plus d’un millier de personnes*. Partners Group est coté à la bourse Suisse «SIX Swiss Exchange», où fondateurs et collaborateurs possèdent la majorité des actions. Fin 2017, Partners Group gérait plus de 60 milliards d’euros d’actifs pour le compte de sa clientèle institutionnelle.

Chez Partners Group, l’activité d’investissement englobe les domaines private equity, private real estate, private debt et private infrastructure, l’accent étant mis sur des actifs de qualité supérieure qui présentent un certain potentiel de croissance. Les conditions changeantes du marché, ainsi que les tendances transformatrices et régionales, peuvent affecter considérablement l’attrait de secteurs et d’industries spécifiques. Les équipes d’investissement effectuent donc une analyse régulière pour identifier et définir plus précisément les secteurs, les régions et les stratégies sectorielles susceptibles d’offrir une valeur relative par rapport aux autres segments à un moment donné.

«Notre approche d’investissement dans les marchés privés est guidée à la fois par les changements structurels et les tendances transformatrices. En particulier, nous nous concentrons sur les secteurs bénéficiant des mégatendances globales qui ont selon nous la capacité de soutenir une croissance de revenus supérieure à la moyenne des actifs. Ces mégatendances comprennent la transformation numérique, les nouveaux cadres de vie et univers de consommation ainsi que la révolution de l’énergie.»
Christoph Rubeli, Partner et Co-CEO de Partners Group

La création de valeur, première priorité
Dans le domaine du private equity, Partners Group investit dans des entreprises présentant un fort potentiel de développement. Pendant toute la durée des investissements, les équipes d’investissement travaillent en étroite collaboration avec la direction et les partenaires commerciaux. Elles sont épaulées par une équipe de spécialistes de branche «Industry Value Creation», qui met à profit sa grande connaissance des secteurs concernés pour générer davantage de valeur ajoutée.

Des solutions sur mesure
Sur les marchés mondiaux de la dette privée, Partners Group propose des solutions de financement sur mesure pour des actifs de qualité dans des industries stables. Ces financements, généralement fournis dans les «buyouts», apportent une contribution significative à la création de valeur à long terme d’une entreprise. Les équipes d’investissement locales de la société fournissent des financements sur l’ensemble de la structure de la dette, allant des crédits de premier rang aux solutions de financement «mezzanine».

Approche de la valeur relative dans le domaine de l’immobilier
Sur les marchés mondiaux de l’immobilier, Partners Group investit par le biais de ses équipes locales, en se concentrant sur les possibilités de création de valeur sur les segments suivants: vente au détail, surfaces de bureaux, industrie, hôtels et logements d’habitation. Notre stratégie d’investissement dans l’immobilier nous permet d’investir dans toute la structure du capital, c’est-à-dire dans des instruments de fonds propres ou de dette basés sur notre stratégie d’investissement de valeur relative.

Investissements dans l’infrastructure avec un risque limité de perte
Dans le cadre de l’infrastructure privée mondiale, Partners Group recherche des transactions d’infrastructure orientées vers le contrôle avec un risque limité de perte et une grande visibilité des cashflows. Nos spécialistes ont investi et acquis une expertise significative dans les secteurs suivants: transport, communication, énergie conventionnelle, énergie renouvelable, infrastructures énergétiques, eau, infrastructures sociales et gestion des déchets.
Partners Group gère une large palette de programmes d’investissement et de portefeuilles sur mesure pour plus d’un millier de clients institutionnels1 et leurs plus de 100 millions de bénéficiaires qui recherchent des performances d’investissement supérieures dans les marchés privés. Ces programmes offrent une variété d’options d’investissement différentes dans toutes les classes d’actifs des marchés privés. Ils englobent des portefeuilles de classes d’actifs uniques ou multiples, répondant au profil de rendement et de diversification souhaité par leurs clients.

Des investissements de plus de 80 milliards de dollars
La plateforme d’investissement et les capacités de structuration de Partners Group lui permettent de répondre à un large éventail de besoins d’investissement différents et de répondre à des exigences réglementaires spécifiques. Ses programmes et mandats d’investissement ont permis à l’entreprise d’investir plus de 80 milliards USD1 en private equity, private real estate, private debt et private infrastructure pour le compte de ses clients depuis sa création. La base d’investisseurs institutionnels de Partners Group est largement diversifiée selon les régions et les types de clients. Cependant, la Suisse reste un marché important pour l’entreprise et représente aujourd’hui plus de 10 milliards d’euros d’actifs sous gestion. L’entreprise s’efforce donc de fournir à ses investisseurs locaux les meilleures solutions en termes de structuration pour accéder aux opportunités du marché privé mondial.

«Dans la construction de notre entreprise, nous avons été soutenus en permanence par les autorités compétentes, et nous sommes impressionnés par leur attitude générale en faveur des affaires. Nous comprenons que le législateur ait pris les mesures nécessaires, et nous soutenons les autorités dans leur mission d’insister sur l’accès au marché et de lutter pour l’égalité des chances, surmontant ainsi les obstacles croissants pour servir les clients institutionnels transfrontaliers depuis la Suisse.»
Felix Haldner, Partner, Client Solutions

*Indications au 31 décembre 2017