Pictet Asset Management

Perseverance and a focus on our strengths

The story of Pictet is one marked by a solid foundation with a long-term view. Pictet is a partnership of seven owner-managers responsible for the entire business of the Group. Our principles of succession and transmission of ownership have remained unchanged since 1805. Over the past 211 years, there have been only 41 partners, each with an average tenure of over 21 years.

The partnership structure allows us to shape our business strategy without pressure from external shareholders or creditors. Thanks to this financial independence, we enjoy independence of mind, exacting risk management and freedom from the temptations of short-term fashions.
The Pictet Group comprises three business lines: Wealth Management, Asset Management and Asset Services. Pictet AM is a specialist asset manager offering investment solutions and services to investors around the world. With 850 employees across 17 offices worldwide, we manage assets totalling CHF 192 billion.

Focus on specific strengths
We believe success comes from our focus. We commit substantial analytical resources to three axes: Greater Europe, where we have a natural competitive advantage; Emerging World, where we have been pioneers in both equity and debt markets; and Global Specialities, where we take a different approach to global investing through active, benchmark-agnostic strategies.

How it all began
In 1967, we were a founding member of Switzerland’s first independent investment foundation and started managing our first institutional mandate. The following year, we launched our first Swiss fund. In 1980, in a joint venture with Melon Bank, Pictet Asset Management was formed to open up new markets. However, we never aspired to be all things to all people. Instead, we are a focused asset manager investing where we can add value for our clients. We believe in manager skill and aim to deliver alpha coupled with high active share and astute management of market risk (see below for further details).
Since the launch of Pictet AM, our decisions have always centred on our strong investment convictions and clear strategic priorities. We believe that our strategies should be hard to replicate, and this has led us to develop very specialist skills in areas of the market where active management is not only desirable, but essential for success. This approach has enabled us to provide specialist investment services to some of the world’s largest pension funds, financial institutions, sovereign wealth funds and financial intermediaries as well as their clients.

Milestones

  • 1967 Managed our 1st institutional mandate
  • 1968 Launched 1st Swiss fund
  • 1980 Inception of Asset management business
  • 1986 Launch of our first equity indexation product
  • 1989 First Luxembourg operations: Began investing in emerging markets (equities), followed by sovereign bonds in 1998 and corporates in 2012
  • 1995 Establishment of Lux and Swiss ManCo as well as Pictet Asset Management in Singapore. We began our thematic franchise by being one of the first asset managers to launch a biotechnology product.
  • 1996 Began selling mutual funds to external investors
  • 1998 Launched our Fixed Income & ESG franchise
  • 1999 Launched our first Sustainable Equities fund
  • 2001 Began our Money Markets franchise
  • 2005 Establishment of Pictet Asset Management SA, Geneva as well as SEC registration
  • 2007 Signature of the PRI Principles for Responsible Investment
  • 2008 Launch of our first Sovereign Money Market product
  • 2011 Launch of our first alternative investments (Pictet TR) strategy
  • 2014 Our distribution and investment activities merged and came under one roof
  • 2016 Creation of a dedicated ESG team
  • 2018 Formalised a firm-wide ESG engagement strategy

Timing and perseverance: aspects that must not be underestimated
We consider our distinctive investment capabilities to have been a strong factor in our success. Iterms of distribution, we were early to establish Pictet AM in Japan, opening an office in 1985 and staying on when many of our competitors withdrew from the market in the 1990s. Today, Pictet AM is one of the leading foreign asset managers in Japan. In contrast, we were arguably later to develop our Asia business relative to some competitors. In recent years, however, we have seen strong growth in Pictet AM’s Asian business, with expansion of the offices in Singapore, Hong Kong and Taipei.
Pictet AM offers distinctive active investment strategies that are not easily replicated outside the firm. This focus has led to Pictet AM being perceived by clients and distributors alike as a pioneer and an innovative investment firm. From our range of thematic equities to specialist emerging market and credit strategies or our substantial hedge fund business, Pictet AM offers genuine active alpha to investors. This, coupled with a reputation for exceptional client services, makes Pictet AM a powerful brand globally.

No intention of resting on our laurels
Our key business objectives for the next three years are:

  • Achieving asset growth within our three strategic axes: Greater Europe, Emerging World and Global Specialities
  • Strengthening our sub-advisory services
  • Increasing awareness of our brand among end investors

Furthermore, we believe in responsible capitalism and take an enlarged view of the economy and its interactions with civil society and the natural environment. With this in mind, we are integrating ESG into our approach across six dimensions: investment processes, proxy voting, exclusion, risk management, reporting, and marketing and communication. In doing so, we are instinctively considering the interests of future generations.

Switzerland – our most important location
Although Pictet Asset Management now operates globally, with more than 75% of revenue comingfrom outside Switzerland, Geneva has remained our most important location by far. The city is home to the Executive Committee as well as the centres of Marketing, Legal, Operations and Compliance and the bulk of our Portfolio Management unit. The latter is especially important to us as we would like not only to keep our Swiss Portfolio Management base, but to expand it where possible. It contributes the biggest share of our profit. Ensuring that this remains the case going forward hinges on the exportability of our services and market access for our products worldwide.

Pictet Asset Management

Ténacité et concentration sur les points forts

L’histoire de Pictet est marquée par des fondations solides et une perspective à long terme. L’entreprise appartient à sept propriétaires, conjointement responsables de l’activité globale du groupe. Les principes en matière de succession et de transfert de propriété sont restés inchangés depuis 1805, année de sa création.

Au cours des 211 dernières années, notre banque n’aura compté que 41 associés, restés en moyenne plus de 21 ans. Cette structure donne la possibilité à l’entreprise de façonner sa stratégie commerciale sans être soumise à la pression d’actionnaires ou de créanciers externes. L’indépendance financière lui permet non seulement de penser et d’agir librement, mais aussi de gérer les risques avec une orientation à long terme et de résister à la tentation des tendances à court terme.
Le groupe Pictet repose sur trois piliers: Wealth Management, Asset Management et Asset Services. Pictet Asset Management est un gestionnaire de fortune spécialisé qui propose des solutions de placement et des prestations de services à l’international. Forte de ses 850 collaborateurs répartis sur 17 sites dans le monde entier, la banque gère des actifs s’élevant à quelque 192 milliards de francs.

Concentration sur certains points forts
Notre succès repose selon nous sur la concentration de notre activité. Nous estimons que nos points forts analytiques résident: 1) en Europe, où nous avons un avantage concurrentiel naturel; 2) dans les pays émergents, où notre entreprise a joué un rôle de précurseur sur les marchés des actions comme des obligations; 3) dans les thématiques spéciales, pour lesquelles nous poursuivons une approche individuelle au moyen de stratégies actives agnostiques en matière de benchmarks.

Les débuts
En 1967, Pictet fut membre fondateur du premier établissement de placement indépendant de Suisse; des collaborateurs chevronnés y géraient le premier mandat institutionnel. L’année suivante, notre premier fonds suisse était lancé. Fruit d’une joint-venture avec la Mellon Bank, Pictet Asset Management a vu le jour en 1980 dans le but de conquérir de nouveaux marchés. Mais l’objectif ne consistait pas à être sur tous les fronts. Nous avons en effet décidé de nous concentrer sur la gestion de fortune et d’investir là où nous pouvions offrir une valeur ajoutée à nos clients. Nous croyons dans les compétences des gestionnaires de fonds et entendons générer de l’alpha, avec une active share élevée et une gestion méticuleuse des risques de marché.
Depuis la création de Pictet Asset Management, nos décisions se sont fondées sur des convictions fortes et des priorités stratégiques claires. Selon nous, il est très difficile de reproduire nos stratégies. Il a donc fallu développer des compétences hautement spécialisées sur des segments de marché où la gestion active est non seulement souhaitable, mais même essentielle pour garantir le succès. Grâce à cette approche, il est possible de fournir des solutions de placement et des prestations spécialisées à des institutions de prévoyance, établissements financiers, fonds d’État et intermédiaires financiers parmi les plus grands du monde.

Jalons importants
La longue histoire de notre entreprise est jalonnée d’événements importants, notamment dans le domaine de l’Asset Management:

  • 1967 Conduite du premier mandat institutionnel
  • 1968 Lancement du premier fonds Pictet de droit suisse
  • 1980 Mise en place de l’activité d’Asset Management
  • 1986 Lancement de notre premier fonds indiciel en actions
  • 1989 Premières opérations au Luxembourg, commençant par l’achat d’actions de pays émergents, suivis d’emprunts d’État en 1998 et d’obligations d’entreprise en 2012
  • 1995 Création des directions de fonds luxembourgeoise et suisse et de Pictet Asset Management, à Singapour. Démarrage de nos fonds thématiques: nous étions alors l’un des premiers gestionnaires d’actifs à lancer un produit biotech.
  • 1996 Vente de fonds de placement à des investisseurs externes
  • 1998 Mise en place des expertises dans les domaines fixed-income et ESG
  • 1999 Lancement du premier fonds d’actions durable
  • 2001 Mise en place de l’expertise pour les produits du marché monétaire
  • 2005 Création de Pictet Asset Management SA, à Genève, y compris enregistrement auprès de la SEC2
  • 2007 Signature des Principes pour l’investissement durable de l’ONU
  • 2008 Lancement de notre premier fonds de marché monétaire avec titres d’État
  • 2011 Élaboration de notre première stratégie alternative (Pictet TR)
  • 2014 Fusion des activités de distribution et d’investissement sous un même toit
  • 2016 Création d’une équipe ESG engagée
  • 2018 Formulation d’une stratégie en matière d’engagement ESG à l’échelle de l’entreprise

Le timing et la ténacité, des aspects non négligeables
De nombreuses possibilités d’investissement ont sans conteste profité au groupe Pictet. Côté vente, nous nous sommes rapidement imposés avec la création de Pictet Asset Management au Japon, où nous ouvrions déjà un bureau en 1985. Alors que nombre de nos concurrents quittaient ce marché dans les années 1990, nous sommes restés sur place et figurons aujourd’hui parmi les principaux gestionnaires de fortune étrangers du pays. Par contre, nous avons relativement tardé à développer notre activité en Asie par rapport à la concurrence. Au fil des ans, nous avons toutefois connu une forte croissance de l’activité asiatique en renforçant nos bureaux à Singapour, Hong Kong et Taipei.
Pictet Asset Management propose des stratégies de placement uniques, qu’il est difficile pour les autres prestataires de reproduire. En raison de cet atout, notre entreprise est considérée tant par les clients que par les distributeurs comme un précurseur et une société de placement innovante. Depuis les approches thématiques concernant les actions jusqu’à l’expertise globale en matière de hedge funds en passant par les stratégies spécifiques aux pays émergents et au crédit, Pictet Asset Management génère de l’alpha par le biais d’approches de placement actives. Cette performance, associée à une grande compétence de service, a fait de notre société l’une des marques les plus renommées dans le monde.

Ne pas se reposer sur ses lauriers
Les principaux objectifs commerciaux des trois prochaines années seront d’étendre les actifs gérés, en particulier dans les trois domaines stratégiques Europe, pays émergents et thématiques mondiales. Nous entendons par ailleurs compléter nos prestations dans le secteur sub-advisory et améliorer notre notoriété auprès des investisseurs privés.
Nous croyons en outre en un capitalisme responsable. L’économie et ses interactions avec la population et la nature s’inscrivent à nos yeux dans un contexte plus global. Nous intégrons par conséquent à nos investissements des aspects ESG revêtant six dimensions: processus de placement, vote par procuration, critères d’exclusion, gestion des risques, reporting, marketing et communication. Nous prenons ainsi automatiquement en compte les intérêts des générations futures.

La Suisse – le site le plus important
Bien que Pictet Asset Management soit aujourd’hui active dans le monde entier et qu’elle dégage plus de 75% de ses produits hors de Suisse, Genève est clairement restée le principal site de la banque. Le lieu accueille la direction, les services Marketing, Droit, Operations et Compliance ainsi que la plus grande part de la gestion de portefeuille. Ce dernier point est particulièrement important, car nous souhaitons que la Suisse demeure le site de référence pour la gestion de portefeuille et nous entendons si possible renforcer sa position, ce domaine étant celui qui crée le plus de valeur. Nous avons besoin à cet effet d’une forte capacité d’exportation de nos prestations et d’un bon accès de nos produits au marché mondial.