responsAbility

Driving development through successful investments

responsAbility Investments is a pioneering impact investor that shows how investment success and development impact can be perfectly combined. With assets under management totalling more than USD 3 billion and investments in 90 countries, it is a leading provider of development investments.

The country is India. Murta from the rural village of Harhua attends the credit group meeting at her local Utkarsh branch to pay her latest instalment. She took out a microloan so her son could start a mobile phone business. “I can pay back the loan, my son can feed his family, and he’s got a little extra money to set aside,” she explains. Utkarsh Small Finance Bank is now serving some 1.3 million borrowers, 98% of them women, thus ensuring that people have access to financial services. The bank is managed very professionally, and it is growing and making a profit – much to the delight of its investors.

Impact and growth
Utkarsh is one of around 540 companies in 90 countries that make up responsAbility’s portfolio. All operate in countries outside the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development in the financial, energy or agricultural sector and address the needs of a broad cross-section of the population. Profiting from the growth of developing economies, they are expanding and require capital in the form of both private debt and private equity. responsAbility makes this capital available via a range of investment products.

“Switzerland leads the way in impact investments in developing countries.”
Philipp Cottier, responsAbility Investments

Scalable success
Two of these investment products – one for micro and SME finance, another for sustainable agriculture – are also authorized for private investors in Switzerland. However, around 40% of their volume is attributable to institutional clients, who appreciate their low correlation to other investment products. Besides a long track record, what these investors demand first and foremost is size. responsAbility has achieved this by successfully scaling what started out as niche products. Our biggest fund for micro and SME finance, which was launched in 2003, is now worth over USD 1 billion, and we also have a climate fund with assets under management in excess of USD 600 million.

Access to new investment markets
When developing new investment themes, responsAbility benefits from highly constructive working relationships with public-sector investors including development banks and Switzerland’s State Secretariat for Economic Affairs (SECO). They enable investments by the private sector through seed funding and loss hedging, opening up access to new investment themes such as climate protection and renewable energy in Africa.

Interest from international investors
The Swiss financial sector is a world leader in the field of sustainable investments, but demand for innovative impact investments is also growing globally. In Scandinavia, for example, pension funds are required to invest ethically. responsAbility Investments, meanwhile, believes that impact and environmental, social and governance (ESG) criteria are given far too little attention in Switzerland.
“Switzerland needs rules forcing pension funds to invest ethically.”
Philipp Cottier, responsAbility Investments

Innovation as a selling point
responsAbility Investments would like above all to see Swiss asset managers gaining easier access to EU markets with their investment products. The company is confident that innovation will continue to be a key success factor going forward. In impact investments and offerings for qualified investors especially, the regulator needs to leave room for providers to innovate. This includes ensuring that banks and insurers do not have to underpin their private equity and private debt investments with too much capital.

responsAbility

Des placements performants au service du développement

responsAbility, l’un des premiers investisseurs à impact social, prouve qu’il est possible de concilier retour social et retour financier. Avec plus de 3 milliards de dollars d’avoirs gérés et des placements effectués dans pas moins de 90 pays, responsAbility Investments est un prestataire de premier plan dans le domaine des development investments.

Direction l’Inde: Murta, originaire du village d’Harhua, se rend à la réunion du groupe de crédit de l’agence locale d’Utkarsh afin de payer sa mensualité. Grâce à son microcrédit, son fils gère un magasin de téléphonie mobile. «J’ai les moyens de rembourser le crédit, et mon fils peut subvenir aux besoins de sa famille et même mettre un peu d’argent de côté», nous explique-t-elle. L’établissement Utkarsh Small Finance Bank a octroyé des microcrédits à 1,3 million de femmes (98% de sa clientèle est féminine), permettant ainsi à toutes ces personnes de bénéficier de services financiers. Cette banque, dirigée avec un grand professionnalisme, gère efficacement les avoirs tout en enregistrant une belle croissance, ce qui réjouit les investisseurs.

Impact et croissance
Utkarsh figure parmi les quelque 540 entreprises issues de 90 pays qui sont gérées par responsAbility. Ces sociétés opèrent toutes dans des pays non membres de l’OCDE, dans les secteurs de la finance, de l’énergie et de l’agriculture, et axent leurs activités sur les besoins de larges couches de la population. Profitant de la croissance de rattrapage, elles sont en expansion et ont besoin de capital, que ce soit sous la forme de private debt ou de private equity. C’est là qu’intervient responsAbility, en mettant ces fonds à leur disposition par le biais de produits de placement.

«La Suisse est leader dans le domaine des investissements à impact dans les pays en développement.»
Philipp Cottier, responsAbility Investments

Un succès évolutif
En Suisse, les investisseurs privés peuvent également bénéficier de ces deux produits de placement - conçus pour les microentreprises et les PME ou pour une agriculture durable. Environ 40% du volume de placement provient toutefois d’investisseurs institutionnels, qui apprécient la faible corrélation avec les autres produits de placement. Lesdits produits doivent faire leurs preuves, tant en matière de résultats - pendant plusieurs années - que de taille. Un défi que responsAbility a su relever: d’anciens produits de niche ont connu une belle évolution. Le fonds consacré aux microentreprises et aux PME vaut plus d’un milliard de dollars et nous gérons actuellement plus de 600 millions de dollars dans le cadre d’un fonds climatique.

Accès aux marchés de placement
En ce qui concerne le développement de nouveaux thèmes de placement, responsAbility mène une collaboration très efficace avec des investisseurs publics, comme les banques de développement et le SECO. Cela permet au secteur privé d’investir par le biais d’un placement initial ou de garanties contre les pertes, et donne ainsi accès à d’autres thèmes, tels que le climat ou l’énergie renouvelable en Afrique.

Des effets sur les investisseurs internationaux
Dans le domaine des placements durables, la place financière suisse joue un rôle de pionnière dans le monde entier. La demande en investissements innovants ayant des effets sociaux ne cesse de croître au niveau international. En Scandinavie, par exemple, les caisses de pension sont tenues d’investir de façon éthique, alors que selon responsAbility, les placements à impact social et ESG jouent pour l’heure un rôle bien trop minime en Suisse.

«La Suisse a besoin de directives pour que ses caisses de pension investissent de façon durable.»
Philipp Cottier, responsAbility Investments

L’innovation en tant qu’argument de vente
Pour l’avenir de l’Asset Management helvétique, responsAbility Investments souhaite surtout que les produits de placement suisses bénéficient également d’un accès facilité aux marchés de l’UE. L’établissement est convaincu que l’innovation continuera de représenter un facteur de succès important. C’est surtout dans le domaine de l’investissement à impact social et des offres pour investisseurs qualifiés que le législateur doit lui aussi autoriser l’innovation, notamment en veillant à ce que le capital requis par les banques et les assurances pour les placements en private equity et en private debt ne soit pas trop élevé.

ital unterlegt werden müssen.