SFAMA and AMP Switzerland join forces

Header Bild Schweizer Flagge

Media release

Basel, 25 September 2020 – Switzerland is an important centre for asset management, both within Europe and worldwide. With a view to strengthening its position further, the Asset Management Platform (AMP) Switzerland and the Swiss Funds and Asset Management Association SFAMA will merge in autumn 2020 to form the Asset Management Association Switzerland. The Swiss Bankers Association (SBA) will be a member of the new Association with a seat on its Board of Directors.

Asset management has established itself as a mainstay of the Swiss financial sector alongside the traditional banking and insurance businesses. Its importance has grown significantly in recent years, especially in the context of pensions and sustainable investment. The total volume of assets managed by asset managers in Switzerland is estimated at more than CHF 2,500 billion.

Joining forces to serve Swiss asset management

In view of the growing importance of asset management, the Asset Management Platform Switzerland and the Swiss Funds and Asset Management Association SFAMA will merge in autumn 2020. The merger is intended to strengthen the systematic focus on asset management even further and to underscore its economic importance. The aim of creating and maintaining a favourable political and regulatory environment for the industry in Switzerland remains unchanged. Iwan Deplazes, previously Chairman of the AMP and now President of the Asset Management Association Switzerland, had this to say: «The creation and development of the AMP as a joint venture between SFAMA and the Swiss Bankers Association has been a success. The time has now come for all of the partners to pursue a merger from a position of strength. As the Asset Management Association Switzerland, we have the vision to improve Switzerland’s standing as a leading asset management location further.»

The Swiss Bankers Association (SBA) which played a vital role in helping to create and fund the AMP, supports the merger. SFAMA and the SBA both see it as an opportunity to work together more closely going forward as regards asset management and present a united front in promoting Switzerland as a location for asset management. In future, the SBA will be a member of the Asset Management Association Switzerland with a seat on its Board of Directors. SBA Chairman Herbert J. Scheidt commented, «Asset management is now a key pillar of the Swiss financial sector. The Asset Management Association Switzerland reflects this importance by bundling together the previous platforms’ knowledge and capabilities. This combination of broad membership and clear objectives will allow it to make sure that its views are heard and to strengthen Switzerland’s position as a location for asset management.»

The Asset Management Platform Switzerland: a success story

The Asset Management Platform Switzerland was set up in 2016 and has enjoyed considerable success over the past few years. In particular, it has succeeded in establishing asset management as a mainstay of the Swiss financial sector in its own right. Milestones have included the annual publication of a comprehensive study on asset management in Switzerland, a series of events on hot topics in the industry under the AMP banner and significant progress in the strategic areas of pensions, digital transformation and branding. All of this has improved the public image of the asset management industry, helping to generate steady growth in the number of AMP members.

Annual General Meeting and SFAMF

The changes to the Articles of Association needed to create the new Association were adopted at the Annual General Meeting in Bern on 25 September 2020. The following members of the Board of Directors were also elected at the meeting: Iwan Deplazes (President, Swisscanto Invest by Zürcher Kantonalbank), Charlotte Bänninger (Vice President, UBS Asset Management), Michel Degen (Credit Suisse Asset Management), Laurent Ramsey (Pictet Asset Management), Axel Schwarzer (Vontobel Asset Management) and Mirjam Staub-Bisang (BlackRock Asset Management Switzerland). A representative of the SBA will be put forward for election to the Board of Directors at the next Annual General Meeting in March 2021. Until then, the SBA will take part in Board of Directors meetings as a guest.

The Swiss Funds & Asset Management Forum (SFAMF) also took place on 25 September under the heading «Perspectives for Swiss Asset Management». Thomas Hirschi, Head of the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority FINMA’s Asset Management Division, presented FINMA’s priorities in terms of asset management. Dr Jürg Fausch, lecturer at the Institute of Financial Services Zug IFZ, talked about the Swiss Asset Management Study 2020. The event concluded with a discussion moderated by Reto Lipp of SRF on the competitiveness of the Swiss asset management industry and the Association’s role.

SFAMA et AMP Switzerland unissent leurs forces

Header Bild Schweizer Flagge

Communiqué de presse

Bâle, le 25 septembre 2020 – La Suisse est un centre d’Asset Management important en Europe et dans le monde. Afin de renforcer encore cette position, l’Asset Management Platform Switzerland (AMP) et la Swiss Funds & Asset Management Association (SFAMA) ont décidé de fusionner à l’automne 2020 au sein de l’Asset Management Association Switzerland. L’Association suisse des banquiers (ASB) en sera membre et disposera d’un siège au Comité.

Si la place financière suisse reposait traditionnellement sur deux piliers porteurs, à savoir les activités de banque et d’assurance, un troisième pilier s’impose désormais: l’Asset Management. Celui-ci a pris une importance considérable au cours des dernières années, en particulier dans les domaines de la prévoyance vieillesse et des placements durables. Le total des actifs gérés en Suisse par des asset managers est estimé à plus de CHF 2 500 milliards.

L’Asset Management suisse unit ses forces

Compte tenu du rôle grandissant que joue l’Asset Management, l’Asset Management Platform Switzerland (AMP) et la Swiss Funds & Asset Management Association (SFAMA) ont décidé de fusionner à l’automne 2020. Cela concrétisera davantage encore l’orientation résolue vers l’Asset Management et mettra en lumière l’importance économique de cette discipline. L’objectif demeure par ailleurs d’instaurer et préserver un environnement politique et réglementaire favorable pour la branche en Suisse. Iwan Deplazes, jusqu’ici Président de l’AMP et désormais Président de l’Asset Management Association Switzerland, résume la situation en ces termes: «Sous l’égide de la SFAMA et de l’ASB, l’AMP s’est créée et développée avec succès. L’heure est venue à présent de procéder à la fusion, car tous les partenaires sont en position de force. Dans le cadre de l’Asset Management Association Switzerland, notre ambition est de continuer à développer la place suisse d’Asset Management, qui compte parmi les leaders mondiaux.»

L’ASB, qui a participé à la création de l’AMP et à son développement, soutient cette fusion. Comme la SFAMA, elle y voit l’opportunité de coopérer encore plus étroitement à l’avenir en matière d’Asset Management, ainsi que de s’engager ensemble en faveur d’une place suisse performante dans ce domaine. L’ASB sera membre de l’Asset Management Association Switzerland et disposera d’un siège au Comité. Pour Herbert J. Scheidt, Président de l’ASB, «l’Asset Management est aujourd’hui un pilier porteur de la place financière suisse. Dans ce contexte, l’Asset Management Association Switzerland entend unir les forces et les compétences des plateformes préexistantes. En conjuguant une base élargie et un objectif ciblé, elle pourra faire entendre sa voix et renforcera la place suisse d’Asset Management.»

L’Asset Management Platform Switzerland a un beau parcours derrière elle

Créée en 2016, l’Asset Management Platform Switzerland a enregistré ces dernières années des succès notables. Elle est parvenue en particulier à faire de l’Asset Management un pilier autonome et solide de la place financière suisse. Comptent en outre parmi ses activités et réalisations phares la publication annuelle d’une étude globale sur l’Asset Management en Suisse, la mise en place d’une série d’événements désormais bien établis sur des sujets d’actualité concernant l’Asset Management, ainsi que des avancées décisives dans les domaines stratégiques de la prévoyance, de la numérisation et de l’image de marque. Il en est résulté une sensibilisation accrue du public au rôle de l’Asset Management, avec pour corolaire une augmentation constante du nombre de membres de l’AMP.

Assemblée générale et SFMAF

Les modifications statutaires nécessaires pour constituer l’association ont été adoptées lors de l’Assemblée générale qui s’est tenue à Berne le 25 septembre 2020. Ont en outre été élues membres du Comité les personnes suivantes: Iwan Deplazes (Président, Swisscanto Invest by Zürcher Kantonalbank), Charlotte Bänninger (Vice-présidente, UBS Asset Management), Michel Degen (Credit Suisse Asset Management), Laurent Ramsey (Pictet Asset Management), Axel Schwarzer (Vontobel Asset Management) et Mirjam Staub-Bisang (BlackRock Asset Management Suisse). Lors de la prochaine Assemblée générale, en mars 2021, un représentant de l’ASB sera proposé-e au vote dans le cadre de l’élection du Comité. D’ici là, l’ASB participera aux séances de ce dernier en qualité d’invitée.

Le Swiss Funds & Asset Management Forum (SFAMF) a eu lieu le même jour que l’Assemblée générale sur le thème suivant: «Perspectives pour l’Asset Management suisse». Thomas Hirschi, chef de la division Asset Management au sein de l’Autorité fédérale de surveillance des marchés financiers (FINMA), a présenté les priorités de la FINMA en la matière. Jürg Fausch, professeur à l’Institut für Finanzdienstleistungen Zug (IFZ), est revenu quant à lui sur la Swiss Asset Management Study 2020. En dernier lieu, la compétitivité du secteur suisse de l’Asset Management ainsi que le rôle de l’association ont fait l’objet d’un débat dirigé par Reto Lipp (SRF).