Person of the Month

“There’s no success without social responsibility.”

FRANGULIDIS Anastassios 02 720x480 fee7eff6 f2ee 4387 b67e 853337144308

Anastassios Frangulidis
Head of Multi Asset Switzerland – Zurich, Pictet Asset Management

Anastassios Frangulidis is Head of Multi Asset Switzerland – Zurich at Pictet Asset Management. He is responsible for multi-asset investment solutions in the German-speaking region. Institutional clients in particular expect their portfolios either to outperform a predefined benchmark net of fees or to achieve a target absolute return within a predefined period.

 

Anastassios Frangulidis, what does success mean to you?
For me, success means exceeding the expectations of my stakeholders – my clients, managers, team, and other colleagues. This can be done through performance or through soft factors like how effectively I interact with others or how I treat people generally. Social responsibility is also very important to me, not just in terms of how we invest the funds entrusted to us, but also in my work with a foundation that helps people in Switzerland who suffer from health problems.

What was the best decision you have taken in your career?

Entering the world of asset management as a young graduate. I already had a keen interest in economic and social systems, and to this day I’m fascinated by how they influence financial markets and vice versa. This is what motivates me to want to understand them better.

Which values underlie your day-to-day actions, decisions, plans?

It’s all about long-term relationships with my stakeholders built on close partnership. This allows me to take the initiative in a way I know will be to their benefit.

Have you ever regretted a professional decision?

Yes. My work involves constantly making decisions, so it’s only natural that they can’t always be right. That said, I believe this is an important process that helps me to become better. I’m certain that we can learn a lot from our past mistakes, both individually and collectively. History gives us plenty of examples of mistakes made by a society or a nation that ended up being repeated because they were never regretted and thus never dealt with.

Who do you think of when you hear the word “successful”?

Pericles. He didn’t just crown the golden age of Athens with its timeless landmark, the Acropolis. He was the strategist of democracy, a form of government that placed the emphasis on citizens’ self-determination. This has been the foundation for millions of people around the world to enjoy success right up to the present day.

Which problems should politicians and authorities urgently address?

The state of the pension system is one of society’s biggest problems – not just in Switzerland, but also in many other countries of the West. The current situation is very unfavourable for the younger generation because they have to subsidize a large share of the pensions that are being paid out right now but can’t expect to receive similar benefits when they retire. At the same time, it’s placing a huge strain on the economy, tying up resources that could otherwise be used to increase potential growth and thus improve incomes and create jobs. It’s essential for our pension system to make people assume more responsibility for themselves and to adjust its parameters in line with today’s reality. This needs to be urgently addressed not only by politicians and authorities, but also by society as a whole.

How do you achieve that crucial work/life balance?

In the vineyards and woods around Männedorf and Stäfa. I love spending time with my family there. We usually discuss current affairs during our walks. Hearing my children’s views is very valuable. I learn a lot from them.

What is your favorite anti-depressant?

A delicious lunch or dinner with my family and good friends, and it must include two things: wine and olive oil.

Which childhood memory has left a lasting impression on you?

Traveling around Europe with my parents and my sister in the 70s and 80s. We spent three weeks every summer in various countries all over the continent, which still had different political systems back then. It was a real learning experience for me, and it had a profound impact on my life.

What book are you reading at the moment?

“21 Lessons for the 21st Century” by the Israeli philosopher Yuval Noah Harari. Liberal systems derive power from the free will of individuals as expressed in their feelings, wishes, and decisions. These elements of human freedom are increasingly subject to external influences. Harari’s book looks into the risks facing liberalism in the 21st century.

What do you do on a short journey?

On the outward journey, I work on my tasks for the day. On the way back, usually in the evening or at the end of the week, I listen to music or read the daily paper.

What is your favorite travel destination?

Monodendri, a mountain village in the Epirus region of northwestern Greece. It’s an unspoiled place away from the tourist trail with beautiful landscapes and architecture, very reminiscent of the villages in Ticino. The Ionian Sea with its famous islands isn’t far away, so you can have mountain and beach vacations rolled into one.

Portrait du mois

«Le succès sans responsabilité sociale, ça n’existe pas.»

FRANGULIDIS Anastassios 02 720x480 fee7eff6 f2ee 4387 b67e 853337144308

Anastassios Frangulidis
Head of Multi Asset Switzerland – Zurich, Pictet Asset Management

Anastassios Frangulidis est Responsable Multi Asset Switzerland – Zurich chez Pictet Asset Management. Il a en charge les solutions mixtes de placement dans l’espace germanophone. Les clients institutionnels, en particulier, attendent soit que l’on réalise une surperformance nette par rapport à un benchmark prédéfini, soit que l’on atteigne des objectifs de performance absolus dans un laps de temps déterminé.

 

Anastassios Frangulidis, le succès, c’est quoi pour vous?
C’est d’aller au-delà des attentes de mes partenaires professionnels, qu’il s’agisse de client.e.s, de supérieur.e.s hiérarchiques, de collaboratrices et collaborateurs ou d’autres collègues de travail. Cela peut être lié à la performance, mais aussi à des soft factors comme la qualité du dialogue ou les relations quotidiennes. Je suis également très attaché à la responsabilité sociale, à la fois dans la manière dont nous investissons les actifs financiers qui nous sont confiés et par mon engagement au sein d’une fondation qui s’efforce d’aider nos concitoyens victimes de problèmes de santé.

Quelle est la meilleure décision que vous ayez prise dans votre carrière professionnelle?

Celle d’entrer dans l’univers de la gestion de fortune sitôt mon diplôme universitaire en poche. Avant cela, je m’intéressais déjà beaucoup à tout ce qui concerne l’économie et la société. L’influence de ces facteurs sur les marchés financiers, et inversement, continue de me fasciner et me donne l’énergie de toujours chercher à mieux connaître ces phénomènes.

Sur quelles valeurs reposent vos actes au quotidien, vos décisions, vos projets?

Sur la volonté de cultiver des relations au long cours avec mes interlocutrices et mes interlocuteurs, dans le cadre de partenariats privilégiés. Cela me permet de prendre les bonnes initiatives en tenant compte de leurs priorités.

Vous est-il arrivé de regretter une décision que vous aviez prise dans le cadre professionnel?

Oui. Dans mon domaine d’activité, j’ai sans arrêt des décisions à prendre, et il m’arrive évidemment de me tromper. Mais à mes yeux, commettre des erreurs est important pour s’améliorer – ce que l’on a raté par le passé nous apprend beaucoup, j’en suis convaincu. C’est vrai d’ailleurs au plan individuel comme au plan collectif. L’Histoire nous livre de multiples exemples d’erreurs commises par une société ou une nation, et qui se sont répétées faute d’en avoir tiré les enseignements.

Si je vous demande de citer un personnage qui a «réussi», à qui pensez-vous?

A Périclès. Il a marqué de son empreinte l’âge d’or athénien, dont le symbole majeur demeure l’Acropole. Mais aussi, il a été le stratège de la démocratie, une forme de gouvernement qui fait de l’autodétermination de l’homme la valeur suprême. Cette valeur demeure encore aujourd’hui la clé du succès pour des millions de personnes à travers le monde.

Selon vous, quelles sont les questions dont les responsables politiques et les autorités devraient s’emparer sans tarder?

L’état dans lequel se trouve le système de prévoyance vieillesse est un des problèmes majeurs de nos sociétés, non seulement en Suisse, mais aussi dans de nombreux autres pays occidentaux. La situation actuelle est très défavorable pour la jeunesse. D’une part, parce que cette dernière contribue largement à financer les prestations versées aux aînés sans pouvoir espérer les mêmes plus tard. Et d’autre part, parce que ce système mobilise une part importante des ressources économiques qui, utilisées autrement, génèreraient davantage de potentiel de croissance et donc davantage de revenus et d’emplois. Faire preuve de plus de responsabilité individuelle, adapter les paramètres à la réalité d’aujourd’hui, c’est indispensable pour notre système de prévoyance. Outre les responsables politiques et les autorités, la société toute entière devrait se pencher sur ce sujet sans tarder.

Pendant vos loisirs, qu’est-ce qui est pour vous un facteur d’équilibre?

Me promener dans le vignoble et dans la forêt de Männedorf et de Stäfa, en particulier avec ma famille. Le plus souvent, nous en profitons pour bavarder sur les sujets qui mobilisent notre société. Connaître le point de vue de mes enfants est très intéressant. J’apprends beaucoup.

Votre meilleur antidépresseur?

Un bon déjeuner ou un bon dîner, en compagnie de ma famille ou de quelques amis, à condition que deux éléments essentiels soient de la partie: du vin et de l’huile d’olive!

Quel est le souvenir d’enfance qui vous a marqué?

Les voyages à travers l’Europe avec mes parents et ma sœur, dans les années 1970 et 1980. Chaque été, nous passions trois semaines dans différents pays du continent, qui à l’époque avaient encore des systèmes politiques différents. C’était très enrichissant pour moi et ça m’a beaucoup marqué.

Quel livre lisez-vous actuellement?

Je lis «21 leçons pour le XXIe siècle», du philosophe israélien Yuval Noah Harari. Dans le système libéral, le pouvoir résulte de la libre volonté des personnes, telle qu’elle s’exprime par leurs ressentis, leurs souhaits et leurs décisions. Ces éléments de la liberté humaine sont de plus en plus soumis à des influences extérieures. Harari explore dans ce livre les risques pour le libéralisme au XXIe siècle.

Que faites-vous pendant un bref déplacement?

A l’aller, je travaille sur mes dossiers. Au retour, c’est-à-dire le plus souvent le soir ou en fin de semaine, j’écoute de la musique ou je lis le journal.

Quelle est votre destination de voyage préférée?

Monodendri, un village de montagne situé en Epire, au nord-ouest de la Grèce. A l’écart du tourisme de masse, au cœur d’une nature préservée, il a conservé toute son authenticité et son architecture magnifique rappelle fortement les villages tessinois. La mer Ionienne et ses fameuses îles ne sont pas loin, de sorte que l’on peut associer là-bas les plaisirs de la montagne et ceux de la plage!