Person of the Month

Transparency and comparability are vitally important to fund investors who act sustainably

Po M SFD Roman Aschwanden A

Roman Aschwanden
CEO of Swiss Fund Data AG, Zurich

Roman Aschwanden became CEO of Swiss Fund Data AG, a joint venture between the Asset Management Association Switzerland and SIX Swiss Exchange, at the start of April 2020 after a brief stint as a consultant at Alpha FMC. Before that, he was CEO of the fund management business and COO for Continental Europe at GAM. Roman also spent more than 15 years as Head of Portfolio Management in GAM’s discretionary private clients business. Prior to joining GAM, he held various functions in asset management at UBS AG, including Chief of Staff at UBS Investment Bank in Japan.

 

Roman Aschwanden, what does success mean to you?
Achieving a goal you’ve set for yourself on schedule. You can think of yourself as successful if your achievements are recognized and appreciated.

What was the best decision you have taken in your career?

Despite being very uncertain about it at the time, opting not to attend the UBS Investment Banking School in New York but to pursue a new challenge in Japan instead for personal reasons. The end result was an exciting time in a different culture with a very demanding work environment and some personal successes. I’m proud to have been married to my Japanese wife for almost 25 years.

What is it that motivates you?

Tasks that demand total commitment, a wide range of different skills, and broad experience.

What was the biggest challenge you faced at the start of your career?

That was probably my time in Japan, when I was in charge of merging the corporate finance departments of Union Bank of Switzerland, Swiss Bank Corporation, and LTCB at the same time as getting the onshore private bank project up and running, all within the space of six months. I was working exceptionally long hours, even by Japanese standards.

What drove you to do what you do today?

It’s the challenge of modernizing Swiss Fund Data AG together with our clients and stakeholders and broadening its offering of data, statistics, and marketing materials. My years of experience working in fund and asset management, data, and operations are sure to help me in this respect.

What do you enjoy most in your job, what least?

The things I enjoy most are the diversity and the opportunities to innovate. The company’s manageable size is also a plus as it offers flexibility and a certain degree of independence. I have a tendency to automate routine processes – if something isn’t fast enough, I get impatient quite quickly.

How do you achieve that crucial work/life balance?

I find it easy to switch off while jogging through the countryside. The occasional weekend at my vacation apartment in Davos also helps me to take a break from my commitments and put day-to-day stresses to one side.

What can you not do without?

In vino veritas! My life would be much less colorful without a good bottle of wine.

What are you thankful for?

My health, my friends, and good working relationships.

Do you play a musical instrument?

Yes, I love playing my grand piano. I studied music for my school leaver’s certificate, but then I virtually stopped playing the piano altogether for more than 20 years. Then I got back into it through GAM when I was roped into giving a short performance together with a talented violinist at the Christmas party.

What was your favorite subject at school?

It was Latin because of the logic in its grammar, Cicero’s speeches, the poetry of Catullus, and – last but not least – a teenager’s love of nostalgia for times gone by.

If you could choose any country, where would you like to live and why?

That’s a tough one. There’s a lot of water between Japan and Hawaii, but it would definitely come down to a choice between those two island groups. It wouldn’t be easy weighing up the culture and harmony of Japan on the one hand against the easy-going lifestyle amid the vast Pacific in Hawaii on the other.

Portrait du mois

La transparence et la comparabilité sont essentielles lorsqu’on investit dans des fonds selon une approche durable

Po M SFD Roman Aschwanden A

Roman Aschwanden
CEO de Swiss Fund Data SA, Zurich

Depuis 1er avril 2020, Roman Aschwanden est CEO de Swiss Fund Data SA, une entreprise commune de l’Asset Management Association Switzerland et de SIX Swiss Exchange. Auparavant, il a fait un bref passage chez Alpha FMC en tant que consultant, après avoir dirigé GAM Investment Management et été COO de GAM pour l’Europe continentale. Roman Aschwanden a également été responsable de la gestion de portefeuille discrétionnaire pour la clientèle privée de GAM pendant plus de quinze ans. Au début de sa carrière, il a exercé diverses fonctions dans l’Asset Management chez UBS SA, en particulier celle de Chief of Staff of Investment Banking au Japon.

 

Roman Aschwanden, le succès, c’est quoi pour vous?
Atteindre un objectif que l’on s’est fixé dans le temps imparti. Quand cet aboutissement est perçu comme tel et reconnu, on peut vraiment parler de succès.

Quelle est la meilleure décision que vous ayez prise dans votre carrière professionnelle?

C’est une décision sur laquelle j’ai beaucoup hésité: pour des raisons personnelles, j’ai choisi de tenter ma chance au Japon plutôt que de suivre la formation de l’Investment Banking School d’UBS à New York. Résultat: j’ai vécu une période passionnante au cœur d’une culture différente, avec des défis professionnels considérables et des succès dans ma vie privée. Mon épouse est japonaise et je suis fier d’être marié avec elle depuis presque 25 ans.

Quel est votre moteur?

Accomplir des tâches complexes, qui exigent de s’engager à 100 % et de mobiliser toutes les aptitudes et toute l’expérience que l’on possède.

Au début de votre carrière, à quel défi majeur avez-vous été confronté?

C’était sans aucun doute pendant mon séjour au Japon. En l’espace de six mois, j’ai eu en charge le regroupement des services Corporate Finance d’UBS, SBS et LTCB avec, en parallèle, la mise en place du projet de banque privée onshore. Mes journées de travail étaient tellement longues, même au regard des standards japonais, qu’elles ne passaient pas inaperçues!

Qu’est-ce qui vous a poussé dans la voie qui est la vôtre aujourd’hui?

Le défi de moderniser Swiss Fund Data SA, en partenariat avec les clients et les différentes parties prenantes, ainsi que d’élargir son offre en matière de données, de statistiques et de marketing. Ma longue expérience dans l’Asset Management et la gestion de fonds ainsi que dans le domaine Data et Operations me sera certainement d’une grande aide.

Qu’est-ce qui vous plaît le plus – et le moins – dans votre travail?

Ce qui me plaît le plus, c’est sa diversité ainsi que la possibilité d’innover. De plus, l’entreprise est à taille humaine, d’où une certaine flexibilité et une relative indépendance qui me motivent beaucoup. J’ai tendance à automatiser les processus routiniers – quand ça ne va pas assez vite, je m’impatiente facilement.

Pendant vos loisirs, qu’est-ce qui est pour vous un facteur d’équilibre?

Courir en pleine nature me permet de déconnecter. De même, passer parfois un week-end dans mon appartement de Davos me permet de prendre le recul dont j’ai besoin par rapport à mes obligations et au stress du quotidien.

Y a-t-il quelque chose qui vous soit indispensable?

In Vino Veritas! Sans une bonne bouteille de vin de temps en temps, ma vie perdrait vraiment de sa saveur.

De quoi êtes-vous reconnaissant?

La santé, l’amitié, la qualité des relations professionnelles, je suis reconnaissant de tout cela.

Jouez-vous de la musique?

Oui, j’aime beaucoup jouer du piano. Après ma maturité spécialisée musique, je n’ai quasiment plus touché à un piano pendant plus de vingt ans. C’est grâce à GAM que je m’y suis remis, lorsque j’ai accepté de jouer un morceau avec un violoniste de talent lors d’une fête de Noël.

Quelle était votre matière préférée à l’école?

Le latin, à cause de la logique grammaticale, des discours de Cicéron, de la poésie d’un Catulle, et sans doute aussi d’une certaine nostalgie des époques révolues propre à l’adolescence...

Si vous aviez le choix, dans quel pays aimeriez-vous vivre et pourquoi?

C’est difficile à dire – il y a beaucoup d’eau entre le Japon et Hawaï. Mais c’est en tout cas dans l’une de ces deux îles que je m’installerais. Entre la culture et l’harmonie japonaises d’une part et la vie facile aux confins du Pacifique d’autre part, je crois que j’aurais du mal à choisir.