Person of the Month

Header Bild Kopf des Monats

«How you go about achieving your results has become much more important.»

Final Foto B Vincent Duval

Vincent Duval
Head Swiss Balanced Strategies, UBS Asset Management

Vincent Duval has worked at UBS Asset Management in Zurich since 2005 and is currently Head Swiss Balanced Strategies. He is a member of the global Investment Committee and responsible for the performance of Swiss balanced multi-asset funds and mandates – in particular the management of the UBS Vitainvest Sustainable Funds, one of the largest families of investment funds for Pillar 3 retirement savings in Switzerland.

 

Vincent Duval, what does success mean to you?

As a Portfolio Manager, success is first and foremost synonymous with good performance in relation to a clearly defined investment objective. Achieving an investment objective without taking on too much risk and keeping portfolio volatility in line with the customer’s risk capacity can also be seen as successful investing. This requires a disciplined investment process and intelligent portfolio construction. Much like competing in the decathlon as an athlete, managing multi-asset portfolios involves a mix of different disciplines. It’s all about using a wide range of information and parameters to find the best possible combination of asset classes. Additional key factors have been integrated into fundamental analysis in recent years, notably sustainability criteria. How you go about achieving your results has thus become much more important. If we can deliver similar or even better performance with a smaller carbon footprint and good sustainable investment ratings, we can call that a success.

What was the best decision you have taken in your career?

My best decision was definitely seeking out a career in active portfolio management. It wasn’t easy, especially since our theory training always stressed the efficiency of financial markets. I felt like I was entering into a profession where success was almost impossible. Working in trading right at the start of my career really helped. It taught me to make decisions and face the consequences.

What is it that motivates you?

I’m passionate about financial markets, and I try to anticipate future events. I also find analyzing investor behavior interesting. My colleagues and I attempt to understand what’s going on in investors’ minds by studying vast amounts of financial news. On top of this, I find any work that allows me to create something new especially rewarding. Developing a new multi-asset strategy with a sustainable approach is a good example.

What importance do you attach to social media?

Less is more. Social media have become an indispensable communication tool in both my private and professional lives, but I use them with care and limit the amount of time I spend on them. We’re bombarded with so much information nowadays that it’s getting harder to digest it all, and the quality sometimes leaves a lot to be desired. I’m also concerned that more and more people are only getting information via social media, and thus only hearing the filtered information that they already agreed with.

What do you enjoy most in your job, what least?

The two things I like most are interacting with interesting people and the diversity of my job. I’m lucky enough to work in an international environment with some very talented specialists. I view our company’s diversity as a plus point, and I think it leads to better results. What I don’t like so much is the sort of paperwork that has little to do with investments or customers.

Which problems should politicians and authorities urgently address?

The demographic trend in Switzerland and the fact that bonds can hardly be expected to pay any interest anymore are problematic and mean that a genuine, sustainable reform of our pension system – especially occupational pensions – is urgently needed. As unpopular as it may be, among other things, the conversion rate needs to be cut in order to reduce the growing burden on future generations. It’s clear that, if things don’t change, private retirement savings will become even more important. This will further accentuate the inequalities in our society.

How do you achieve that crucial work/life balance?

I’m good at switching off and keeping my private life and my work very clearly separate. I have two young children, and I don’t talk about work much when I’m with my family. I try to get all my work done before the weekend. I go jogging at least twice a week, which allows me to clear my head and stay in shape. My office colleagues and I regularly go for a run together in our lunch break, which has strengthened our team spirit.

What advice would you give to someone embarking on a career in asset management today or your younger self?

If you have the right tools to get a grip on new technologies, such as statistical or programming skills, that’s certainly a good start. Of course, an interest in economic relationships and politics is also essential. It’s important for a portfolio manager not just to sit in front of a screen analyzing data, but also to be capable of giving a presentation that grabs people’s attention or making a good impression when visiting a customer. You need an entrepreneurial flair, and you shouldn’t be afraid to put yourself out there. Nothing ventured, nothing gained!

What book are you reading at the moment?

I try to make time to read books that aren’t all about investment but give me a deeper understanding of the world around us. I got Stefan Thurner’s book “Die Zerbrechlichkeit der Welt” (The Fragility of the World) for Christmas. Climate change and divisions within society are destabilizing the global balance. The book explains how science and big data might help us to avert the next major crisis. The future is in our hands! At the same time, of course, these overarching themes are also relevant to investment.

What do you do on a short journey?

I like to travel by train around Switzerland, but I’ve unfortunately had less chance to do it since the pandemic started. The advantage of taking the train is that there aren’t many distractions, so I can concentrate and think about things with a certain amount of distance. Naturally, I also like to look out of the window at our beautiful landscapes, and I sometimes listen to music.

What background picture do you have on your phone?

A panorama of the Alps I took at 3,300 meters above sea level at the summit of Mont Fort in the Four Valleys region of Valais. It’s a place of lofty peaks and spectacular natural landscapes, and they remind me that it’s the simple things that bring the most joy in life.

What famous person would you like to meet?

I don’t really buy into the cult of personality. I think team spirit is much more valuable. That said, I do understand and sometimes share the fascination for people like Elon Musk, a visionary who’s sure to leave his mark on our era. He does of course tend to polarize opinions. I’d like to find out more about him.

Portrait du mois

Header Bild Kopf des Monats

«La manière d’atteindre l’objectif a pris une importance considérable.»

Final Foto B Vincent Duval

Vincent Duval
Head Swiss Balanced Strategies, UBS Asset Management

Vincent Duval est entré en 2005 chez UBS Asset Management à Zurich, où il occupe actuellement le poste de Head Swiss Balanced Strategies. Membre du comité d’investissement international, il a en charge la performance des fonds et des mandats multi-asset suisses balancés et gère en particulier les fonds UBS Vitainvest, une des plus importantes familles de fonds disponibles en Suisse pour la prévoyance du troisième pilier.

 

Vincent Duval, le succès, c’est quoi pour vous?

Pour un gérant de portefeuille, le succès consiste avant tout à réaliser une bonne performance par rapport à un objectif de placement clairement défini. En matière d’investissement, on peut aussi parler de succès lorsqu’on atteint un objectif de placement sans prendre de risques excessifs, avec une volatilité du portefeuille conforme à la capacité de risque du client. Cela nécessite un processus de placement rigoureux et une construction de portefeuille intelligente. La gestion de portefeuilles multi-asset est comparable au décathlon: elle est interdisciplinaire. Le but du jeu est de combiner judicieusement les différentes catégories de placement, en prenant en compte une multitude de paramètres et d’informations. L’analyse fondamentale intègre depuis quelques années de nouveaux facteurs déterminants, comme les critères de développement durable, de sorte que la manière d’atteindre l’objectif a pris une importance considérable: lorsqu’on réalise une performance équivalente, voire meilleure, tout en réduisant l’empreinte carbone et en obtenant un bon rating en matière d’investissement durable, c’est un succès.

Quelle est la meilleure décision que vous ayez prise dans votre carrière professionnelle?

Sans aucun doute, celle d’orienter ma carrière professionnelle vers la gestion de portefeuille active. Cette décision n’a pas été facile à prendre, car notre formation théorique insistait beaucoup sur l’efficience des marchés financiers. J’ai donc choisi un métier dans lequel le succès semblait quasiment impossible. Mon activité de trader, en début de carrière, m’a été très utile: elle m’a appris à prendre des décisions et à en assumer les conséquences.

Quel est votre moteur?

Les marchés financiers me passionnent et j’essaye d’anticiper leurs évolutions. L’analyse du comportement des investisseurs est un domaine qui m’intéresse particulièrement. Avec mes collègues, nous cherchons à comprendre ce qui se passe dans la tête des investisseurs en analysant l’actualité financière à grande échelle.. Un autre de mes moteurs est l’aspect créatif de mon travail, comme par exemple le fait de développer une nouvelle stratégie multi-asset avec une approche durable.

Quel rôle jouent les réseaux sociaux dans votre vie?

Less is more! Les réseaux sociaux sont devenus un moyen de communication incontournable, au niveau privé comme professionnel. Mais j’en fais un usage ciblé et modéré. Nous sommes submergés par des flots d’informations de plus en plus difficiles à assimiler et dont la qualité laisse parfois à désirer. Ce qui me préoccupe aussi, c’est que beaucoup de gens ne s’informent plus que sur les réseaux sociaux, de sorte que les seules informations qui leur parviennent sont des informations filtrées auxquelles ils adhèrent d’emblée.

Qu’est-ce qui vous plaît le plus – et le moins – dans votre travail?

Les deux aspects que je préfère sont la possibilité d’interagir avec des gens très intéressants et la diversité de mon quotidien professionnel. J’ai la chance de travailler dans un environnement international, en étant entouré de spécialistes très pointus dans leurs domaines respectifs. La diversité au sein de mon entreprise est à mes yeux un atout qui permet d’obtenir de meilleurs résultats. Ce qui me rebute un peu, ce sont les tâches administratives qui ont peu de liens avec les investissements ou les clients.

Selon vous, quelles sont les questions dont les responsables politiques et les autorités devraient s’emparer sans tarder?

L’évolution démographique en Suisse est problématique, ainsi que le fait qu’il n’y a plus guère de rémunération à attendre des emprunts obligataires. Des réformes profondes et durables de notre système de prévoyance, en particulier du deuxième pilier, s’imposent donc dans les plus brefs délais. Même si c’est très impopulaire, il faut entre autres abaisser le taux de conversion afin de réduire la charge pour les générations futures. Car une chose est claire: si rien ne change, l’épargne de prévoyance privée jouera un rôle croissant, ce qui creusera encore le fossé des inégalités au sein de la société.

Pendant vos loisirs, qu’est-ce qui est pour vous un facteur d’équilibre?

Je déconnecte facilement. Ma vie privée et ma vie professionnelle sont strictement séparées. J’ai deux jeunes enfants et je parle peu de mon travail lorsque nous sommes en famille. J’essaye de terminer ce que j’ai à faire avant le week-end. Je fais du jogging au minimum deux fois par semaine, ce qui me permet de me vider la tête et de rester en forme. De plus, en allant régulièrement courir ensemble pendant la pause de midi, mes collègues et moi avons développé un bon esprit d’équipe.

Quels conseils donneriez-vous à un jeune qui débute dans l’Asset Management?

Si vous avez tous les outils en main pour maîtriser les nouvelles technologies, par exemple des connaissances en matière de statistiques et de programmation, c’est certainement un bon début. Ensuite, s’intéresser à l’économie et à la politique est indispensable. En tant que gérant de portefeuille, il est important non seulement de savoir analyser devant un écran, mais aussi d’être en mesure de faire une présentation captivante ou de convaincre lors d’un entretien de clientèle. Il faut avoir l’esprit d’entreprise et ne pas hésiter à s’exposer: qui ne tente rien n’a rien!

Quel livre lisez-vous actuellement?

J’essaye de prendre le temps de lire des livres qui ne parlent pas d’investissement, mais aident à mieux comprendre le monde qui nous entoure. Pour Noël, on m’a offert «Die Zerbrechlichkeit der Welt», de Stefan Thurner. Le changement climatique et la fracture sociale rendent l’équilibre mondial très fragile. Ce livre explique comment nous parviendrons peut-être à éviter la prochaine crise majeure grâce à la science et au big data. L’avenir est entre nos mains! Mais bien sûr, ces grands sujets ont aussi des impacts en matière d’investissement…

Que faites-vous pendant un voyage en train?

J’aime bien prendre le train lorsque je me déplace en Suisse, ce qui hélas n’est plus très souvent le cas depuis la crise sanitaire. L’avantage des voyages en train, c’est qu’il y a peu de distractions. Cela me permet de me concentrer et de réfléchir avec du recul. Comme tout le monde, je regarde aussi volontiers défiler le paysage et j’écoute parfois de la musique!

Qu’avez-vous en fond d’écran sur votre téléphone mobile?

Une photo panoramique des Alpes que j’ai prise à 3 300 mètres d’altitude, au sommet du Mont Fort, dans la région valaisanne des Quatre Vallées. Ces hautes montagnes, cette nature splendide me rappellent que les choses simples sont vraiment le sel de la vie.

Quelle est la personnalité de renom que vous aimeriez bien rencontrer?

Je ne pratique pas vraiment le culte de la personnalité et je pense que l’esprit d’équipe a bien plus de valeur. Néanmoins, je comprends et je partage parfois la fascination pour des hommes comme Elon Musk, qui est un visionnaire et marquera indéniablement notre époque de son empreinte. C’est aussi une personnalité clivante, que j’aimerais bien connaître d’un peu plus près.