Person of the Month

“I’m very passionate about Building Bridges.”

Po M LO Patrick Odier

Patrick Odier
Senior Managing Partner of Lombard Odier, Geneva and President Building Bridges

Patrick Odier became a Managing Partner of the Lombard Odier Group in 1986 and Senior Managing Partner in 2008. He was elected President of Swiss Sustainable Finance in summer this year and is also President of Building Bridges, an initiative promoting sustainable finance in Switzerland and worldwide. Lombard Odier has served its clients as an independent partner through seven generations since 1796.

 

Patrick Odier, which values underlie your day-to-day actions, decisions, plans?
Our all-encompassing philosophy “Rethink Everything” guides me every day. We have made a promise to our clients that we will provide them with bespoke, sustainable solutions for managing their assets. Sustainable investments are central to our philosophy and ultimately the result of our fiduciary obligation to give our clients the best possible advice in a changing world.

What importance do you attach to social media?

Social media have become an important part of our communication. In October, we reached the milestone of 100,000 followers on LinkedIn, and we’re gaining more all the time as interest in the latest sustainable investment themes continues to grow. Having always been digital pioneers, we’re now in a position to share our technology platform with other banks. We intend to build further on this lead.

Which problems should politicians and authorities urgently address?

The climate crisis is a crucial challenge for all of us, so we should do everything we can to bring the goal of slowing the pace of global warming closer. We need a pragmatic approach to determining standards and methods, which in turn requires transparency on the part of all stakeholders. For example, every industry needs to work on publishing verifiable emissions data. On top of this, Switzerland should invest more in renewable energies. At the international level, meanwhile, the price of CO2 emissions has to be set sufficiently high.

What are your guiding/leadership principles?

My job as a manager is first and foremost to take on responsibilities and duties. Managers should act as role models. Just like every other member of staff, they are ambassadors for their company.

If you could choose any country, where would you like to live and why?

Switzerland is home for my family and myself, but we also have close links to Greece as that’s where my wife comes from. It’s a country that’s produced lots of thinkers and philosophers that are still relevant today.

What are you thankful for?

Besides the things I’m thankful for personally, the fact that Lombard Odier is still going strong after 225 years of careful management makes me proud.

What can you not do without?

The many people I’ve met in my life so far. Material things aren’t what makes our society what it is, it’s the people with their range of different backgrounds, experiences, and careers.

What advice would you give to someone embarking on a career in asset management today or your younger self?

Be curious, open, and brave, and build up a good network. We can only solve the problems and challenges of our times together. Powerful hubs in which expertise and leadership are concentrated will play a key role.

You became President of Swiss Sustainable Finance in the summer. How is the Swiss financial center positioned in terms of sustainability?

There has been a lot of progress in this area, even without any legal imperative. Sustainable investments have seen massive growth from just a few percent of the market to more than CHF 1,500 billion today, accounting for 30-50% in each segment. Many innovations have emerged, from the first commercial microfinance funds, launched over 20 years ago, to sustainable real estate investments with recognized labels, novel rating methodologies based on automated text recognition, and sustainable gold, to name just a few. Switzerland has come up with numerous new solutions of its own and is now ideally placed to take the financial sector into a sustainable future through innovation, but we need to set our sights way beyond just the climate issues.

You are also President of Building Bridges. What does that initiative aim to achieve?

We launched the Building Bridges initiative in March 2019. Much more than just a conference, it’s really a movement, an interest group that brings all the leading Swiss financial players, authorities, UN organizations, NGOs, and representatives of the scientific and business communities together around the same table. The task of creating a sustainable future for the financial sector involves challenges we can only solve together. Of course, our proximity to the many international organizations that are based in Geneva helps. It allows us to learn from each other and develop joint solutions for achieving the global sustainability goals.

What exactly has it been doing so far?

We held dozens of events in Geneva back in 2019, and the Summit, opened by the Swiss President himself, brought thousands of people to the main venue, Geneva’s Bâtiment des Forces Motrices. Representatives of the 30 financial centers that belong to the FC4S network were inspired by the local gathering to drive things forward at the national level. The Swiss finance world is now speaking with one voice at a time of dramatic regulatory changes that are needed to accelerate the transition and urgently demand shared rules. The Federal Council has acknowledged the importance of making the Swiss financial center a global benchmark for sustainable financial services.

The next Summit takes place in Geneva on 29 November, immediately followed by Building Bridges Week. What are your expectations for the event?

I’m very passionate about Building Bridges. I look forward very much to sharing views and holding discussions with the attendees. In addition to the Summit, which sets the agenda, a number of organizations host more than 77 separate events on the subject of sustainable finance to address the Sustainable Development Goals. This shows the vast innovation potential in our financial sector. Building on this and helping to gear the financial center to the challenges that lie ahead is a hugely exciting task, but this must not stop at a one-time dialog. The initiative aims to create a permanent and fruitful exchange between the various stakeholders that gives rise to real-world solutions. Just as Paris has become the focus of the climate debate, Switzerland can assume a similar role with regard to sustainable investment.

Kopf des Monats

«Building Bridges ist eine Herzensangelegenheit für mich.»

Po M LO Patrick Odier

Patrick Odier
Senior Managing Partner von Lombard Odier, Genf und Präsident Building Bridges

Patrick Odier ist seit 1986 geschäftsführender Partner der Lombard Odier Gruppe und seit 2008 Senior Managing Partner. Im Sommer dieses Jahres wurde er zum Präsi­denten von Swiss Sustainable Finance ernannt. Er präsidiert auch Building Bridges, eine Initiative zur Förderung einer nachhaltigen Finanzwirtschaft in der Schweiz und weltweit. Lombard Odier steht seit 1796 in sieben Generationen als unabhängiger Partner seinen Kunden zur Seite.

 

Patrick Odier, auf welchen Werten beruhen Ihre täglichen Handlungen, Entscheidungen, Pläne?
Unsere ganzheitliche Philosophie «Rethink Everything» begleitet mich jeden Tag. Wir haben unseren Kunden ein Versprechen abgegeben, ihnen massgeschneiderte, nachhaltige Lösun-gen für die Verwaltung ihrer Vermögen bereitzustellen. Nachhaltige Investments sind ein ganz zentraler Teil unserer Philosophie und im Endeffekt die Konsequenz aus unserer treuhänderischen Verpflichtung, die Kunden in einer sich ändernden Welt zu beraten.

Welchen Stellenwert haben soziale Medien bei Ihnen?

Die sozialen Medien sind ein wichtiger Teil in unserer Kommunikation geworden. Wir haben im Oktober die Marke von 100‘000 LinkedIn-Follower erreicht und wachsen hier weiter, da das Interesse an aktuellen Themen zu nachhaltiger Vermögensanlage weiter steigt. Wir waren schon immer digitale Vorreiter und sind deshalb heute in der Lage, unsere Technologie-Plattform anderen Banken zur Verfügung zu stellen. Diesen Vorsprung wollen wir weiter ausbauen.

Welche Probleme sollten Politik und Behörden rasch angehen?

Die Klimakrise ist unsere gemeinsame zentrale Herausforderung und so sollte alles, was uns dem Erreichen des Ziels von einer langsameren Erderwärmung näherbringt, getan werden. Wir brauchen eine pragmatische Herangehensweise, um Standards und Methoden festzu-legen, was wiederum die Transparenz für alle Stakeholder fördert. So müssen beispielsweise alle Branchen daran arbeiten, prüfbare Emissions-Daten zu publizieren. Darüber hinaus sollte die Schweiz mehr in erneuerbare Energien investieren. Und auf internationaler Ebene geht es darum, einen genügend hohen CO2-Preis festzulegen.

Welche Leitsätze/Führungsprinzipen verfolgen Sie?

Als Führungskraft übernehme ich vor allem Verantwortung und Pflichten. Vorgesetzte sollten sich als Vorbild verhalten, denn sie sind – wie auch jeder Mitarbeiter – Botschafter ihres Unternehmens.

Wenn Sie ein Land aussuchen dürften: wo würden Sie am liebsten leben und wieso?

Die Schweiz ist für mich und meine Familie Heimat, aber wir haben auch eine enge Beziehung zu Griechenland, da meine Frau von dort kommt. Ein Land, das viele Denker und Philosophen hervorgebracht, die heute noch ihren Platz haben.

Wofür sind Sie dankbar?

Neben persönlicher Dankbarkeit ist es der Fortbestand von Lombard Odier seit 225 Jahren Mit dem Unternehmen sorgsam umzugehen und es in starker Verfassung zu halten, macht mich stolz.

Auf was könnten Sie in Ihrem Leben nicht verzichten?

Auf die vielen Menschen, die mir in meinem Leben bisher begegnet sind. Es sind eben nicht die materiellen Dinge, sondern die Persönlichkeiten mit ihren vielfältigen Geschichten, Erfahrungen und Lebensläufen, die unsere Gesellschaft heute und morgen ausmachen.

Was würden Sie heute einem Berufseinsteiger im Asset Management, also Ihrem jüngeren Selbst, empfehlen?

Neugierde, Offenheit, Mut und ein ausgeprägtes Netzwerk. Denn wir werden die Probleme und Herausforderungen unserer Zeit nur gemeinsam lösen können. Starke Standorte mit Expertise und Leadership werden eine wichtige Rolle spielen.

Sie sind seit Sommer Präsident des Verbandes Swiss Sustainable Finance. Wo steht der Schweizer Finanzplatz in Bezug auf Nachhaltigkeit?

Das Thema hat sich enorm entwickelt und dies notabene ohne gesetzliche Vorgaben. Nachhaltige Anlagen sind rasant gewachsen, von wenigen Prozentpunkten des Marktes auf heute über 1’500 Milliarden Schweizer Franken, was je nach Segment 30 bis 50 Prozent des Markts entspricht. Zahlreiche Innovationen wurden geschaffen: von ersten kommerziellen Mikro-finanzfonds, die vor über 20 Jahren lanciert wurden, nachhaltigen Immobilienanlagen mit ent-spre¬chenden Labels, innovativen Rating-Ansätzen basierend auf automatisierter Texterken-nung bis hin zu nachhaltigem Gold, um nur einige zu nennen. Die Schweiz hat zahlreiche neue Lösungen hervorgebracht und ist heute bestens positioniert, durch Innovationskraft die Rolle der Finanzwirtschaft auf dem Weg in eine nachhaltige Zukunft zu stärken. Und dabei sollten wir den Blick längst nicht nur auf die Klimathematik richten.

Sie präsidieren auch «Building Bridges». Was hat es damit auf sich?

Im März 2019 haben wir die Initiative «Building Bridges» ins Leben gerufen. Building Bridges ist weit mehr als eine Konferenz. Es geht hier um eine Bewegung, eine Interessens-gemeinschaft, die alle wichtigen Schweizer Finanzakteure, Behörden, UNO-Organisationen, NGOs sowie Vertreter der Wissenschaft und der Unternehmen an einen Tisch bringt. Wir können die Herausforderungen der Zukunft mit Blick auf eine nachhaltige Finanzwirtschaft nur gemeinsam lösen. Natürlich hilft uns hier auch die Nähe zu den internationalen Organisationen, von denen viele in Genf zuhause sind. So können wir gegenseitig voneinander lernen und gemeinsam Lösungen entwickeln, welche zur Erreichung der globalen Nachhaltigkeitsziele beitragen.

Was konkret hat die Initiative angestossen?

Bereits im November 2019 fanden in Genf Dutzende Veranstaltungen statt, und der Gipfel, welcher vom Bundespräsidenten höchstpersönlich eröffnet wurde, hat tausende Menschen im Bâtiment des Forces Motrices zusammengebracht. Die Vertreter der 30 FC4S-Finanzzentren sind von dem lokalen Biotop angetan, denn es hat eine Dynamik auf nationaler Ebene stattgefunden. Die Schweizer Finanzwelt spricht nun mit einer Stimme, und dies in einer Zeit, in der die regulatorischen Veränderungen, die zur Beschleunigung des Übergangs notwendig sind, dramatisch sind und gemeinsame Regeln dringend erforderlich machen. Der Bundesrat macht sich den Imperativ zu eigen: Der Schweizer Finanzplatz muss ein globale Benchmark für nachhaltige Finanzdienstleistungen sein.

Nun steht am 29. November der nächste Summit in Genf an und an den darauffolgenden Tagen die Building Bridges Week. Was sind Ihre Erwartungen an die Veranstaltung?

Building Bridges ist eine Herzensangelegenheit für mich. Ich freue mich sehr auf den Austausch und die Diskussionen mit den Teilnehmern. Nebst dem «Summit», welcher die Agenda setzt, organisieren zahlreiche Organisationen über 77 Anlässe – alle rund um nachhaltige Finanzen zur Adressierung der Sustainable Development Goals. Das zeigt das grosse Innovationspotenzial, das in unserem Finanzsektor steckt. Darauf aufzubauen und zu helfen, den Finanzplatz auf die kommenden Herausforderungen auszurichten, ist eine enorm spannende Aufgabe. Doch es soll nicht bei einem einmaligen Dialog bleiben. Die Initiative zielt darauf ab, dass dauerhaft ein fruchtbarer Austausch zwischen den verschiedenen Akteuren zustande kommt, der auch zu konkreten Lösungen führt. Was Paris für die Klimadiskussion geworden ist, kann die Schweiz für nachhaltige Investments werden.