• HOME
  • Topics
  • Sustainable Finance
  • Greenwashing

Greenwashing

Greenwashing in sustainable asset management poses a legal and reputational risk for the Swiss financial centre and is not compatible with achieving the goal of a leading international Swiss sustainability hub.

Greenwashing commonly means that financial institutions or asset managers pretend that their products or services do more for sustainability or climate protection than it is actually the case. However, the integrity of financial products is of central importance for the Swiss financial centre and the asset management industry.

AMAS therefore rejects any form of greenwashing and has set itself the goal of contributing to the prevention of greenwashing and ensuring the credibility of the Swiss financial centre with commitment and its own measures. These include the "Recommendations on minimum requirements and transparency for sustainable financial products and investment approaches". In addition, AMAS is developing self-regulation for sustainable asset management.

In asset management, greenwashing can occur at all points in the value chain, notably in three operational areas:

  1. at company level if sustainable investment approaches are implemented poorly due to a lack of solid investment processes and if investment controlling, risk management, and ESG data analysis are still insufficient;
  2. at product level if sustainable practices and product features are described in a manner that is not transparent or is incorrect; and
  3. at the point of sale if the product information provided as part of the advisory process is inaccurate or incomplete.

• HOME
  • Themen
  • Sustainable Finance
  • Greenwashing

Greenwashing

Greenwashing im Sustainable Asset Management stellt für den Schweizer Finanzplatz ein Rechts- und Reputationsrisiko dar und ist mit dem Erreichen des Zieles eines international führenden Schweizer Nachhaltigkeits-Hubs nicht vereinbar.

Greenwashing bedeutet gemeinhin, dass Finanzunternehmen oder Asset Manager vorgeben, dass ihre Produkte oder Dienstleistungen mehr für Nachhaltigkeit oder Klimaschutz tun, als das effektiv der Fall ist. Die Integrität von Finanzprodukten ist jedoch von zentraler Bedeutung für den Schweizer Finanzplatz und die Asset Management Industrie.

Die AMAS lehnt daher jede Form von Greenwashing ab (Link Positionspapier) und hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, mit Engagement und eigenen Massnahmen zur Prävention von Greenwashing und zur Sicherstellung der Glaubwürdigkeit des Schweizer Finanzplatzes beizutragen. Dazu gehören die «Empfehlungen zu Mindestanforderungen und Transparenz für nachhaltige Finanzprodukte und Anlageansätze». Zudem erarbeitet die AMAS eine Selbstregulierung für Sustainable Asset Management.

Im Asset Management kann Greenwashing entlang der Wertschöpfungskette und der operativen Tätigkeiten in drei Bereichen vorkommen:

  1. Auf der Unternehmensebene, wenn nachhaltige Anlageansätze aufgrund fehlender solider Anlageprozesse unzureichend umgesetzt werden oder zum Beispiel Investment Controlling, Risikomanagement und ESG-Datenanalyse noch ungenügend sind.
  2. Auf der Produkteebene, wenn Nachhaltigkeitspraktiken und -merkmale eines Anlageproduktes intransparent oder falsch beschrieben werden.
  3. Auf der Point-of-Sale-Ebene, wenn im Beratungsprozess unpräzise oder lückenhafte Informationen zu den Produkten zur Verfügung gestellt werden.